Skip to main content

Anthropology: Finding Articles

This guide covers the fields of social and cultural anthropology in addition to archaeology

Oxford Bibliographies Online

The Oxford Bibliographies Online: Anthropology collection is a great place to start your work. There are many entries on all aspects of Anthropology, all written by leading scholars in those areas. The emphasis is on creating a review of the most important literature in each area, so it's a great place to find things to add to your own reading list.

Literature Reviews

Annual Review of Anthropology. Palo Alto, CA: Annual Reviews Inc., 1972 - present.
For the full text from 1972 to the present

Three things to remember

When using article databases, remember there are always three stages in your workflow (the "three Ds"):

1) Discovery: Do (and redo!) your searching, using varying terms and combining using the Boolean operators "and, or, not" to get good results. Your first search is not your best search, but rather an opportunity to learn how to immediately do a better search

2) Delivery: For items that you like, select the link to the fulltext if available, or click on the button to see if we own the item. If you want to keep this item, either save it to your own computer, email it to yourself, or print it.

3) Database it: Keep the "meta-information" about all that good resources you found for your records and to make your bibliographies. You will find yourself returning to resources so having a system in place will save you time and aggravation later. The NYU Libraries offer a number of tools to our users to help with this, in particular a tool called RefWorks, which you can learn about here.

Journal literature in Anthropology, all fields

Journal literature in subfields

Multidisciplinary sources of journal literature

Journal literature in related fields

Librarian

Scott Collard's picture
Scott Collard
Sorry, I'm either unavailable or your javaScript is disabled; you can try me via email at scott.collard@nyu.edu.
Contact:
Bobst Library

5th Floor, #513
Social:Twitter Page