Skip to main content

Graduate Student Services: 3) Research at NYU and Beyond

A guide to services and resources especially for Graduate Students at NYU Libraries

Contact a Librarian

Librarians and Archivists
NYU Libraries has a wide range of subject specialists who can help guide you through your research. All are available for one-on-one appointments.

Ask A Librarian
Get a quick answer to your question via email, IM, or text message.

Research in NYC...

Collections total more than 50 million items; NYPL includes four research centers, in the humanities and social sciences; performing arts; black history and culture; and business and industry.
Columbia and NYU Libraries have an agreement to share library resources through reciprocal on-site access.
The New York Metropolitan Reference and Research Library Agency (METRO) offers a referral service to many area libraries.

...and Beyond

Provides on-site access privileges to NYU faculty and students to use the collections and services at other SHARES research libraries.
Gives centralised access to the resources of the 48 national libraries of Europe.

More NYU and Affiliated Libraries

NYU Libraries
Specializes in the fields of science, engineering and technology management.
The Courant Library collection is focused on research level material in mathematics, computer science and related fields, including fluid mechanics, image processing, and robotics.
The Richard Ettinghausen Library is a non-circulating Middle East Reference Collection. It functions as a study center for students of the Middle East at NYU.
ISAW is a center for advanced scholarly research and graduate education, intended to cultivate comparative and connective investigations of the ancient world from the western Mediterranean to China
The Jack Brause Library contains materials on all aspects of the real estate industry, from finance and investment, to development, management, and economics.
The Stephen Chan Library of Fine Arts and The Conservation Center Library
The Libraries of the Institute of Fine Arts are non-circulating research collections intended primarily for the use of IFA faculty and students. In addition, we welcome NYU faculty and matriculating students with relevant research needs.
Affiliated Libraries
The library's collections provide support for teaching and research in Art, Architecture and Engineering.
Includes the Raymond Fogelman Social Sciences and Humanities Library. the Adam and Sophie Gimbel Art and Design Library, and the Scherman Music Library.

Manhattan Research Library Initiative (MaRLI)

The New York Public Library and the libraries of Columbia University and New York University have launched a pilot initiative to expand access and use of collections and better serve their users.  The collaboration, dubbed the Manhattan Research Library Initiative (MaRLI), will enable NYU and Columbia doctoral students, full-time faculty and librarians, and approved New York Public Library cardholders with a demonstrable research need not met by currently available resources, to borrow materials from all three institutions.

Find out more here.

Need Help?

Contact us via email, text us at 646-265-1342, or schedule an appointment.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.