Skip to main content

English and American Literature: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Histories

A resource guide for the study of English and American Literature

Defining Terms and Concepts: Handbooks and Terminology

Defining Terms and Concepts: Companions and Histories

Dictionaries and Thesauri

Aside from the Oxford English Dictionary (or OED), we have a number of other dictionaries available to you in both print and digital formats. Here is a sampling of some of the many dictionaries you will find at Bobst:

Etymology: researching word history

Check the first floor reference center starting at PE 1580 and you will be able to browse books on word histories. The following are reference works focused on etymology:

THE place to find out what a word means: The Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Cambridge Collections

Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment.  All of the fabulous resources of the numerous Cambridge Companions are available to you through this resource.  The Companions feature authors and theorists including: Shakespeare, Nabokov, Hemingway, Adorno, Benjamin, Marlowe, just to name a few.  You can view individual volumes, individual essays, and the rich bibliographies that are included within each publication.  Each collection is updated with new Companions on publication.

Literary Research Guide

Literary Research Guide : An Annotated Listing Of Reference Sources In English Literary Studies

This is *the* guide for conducting research. Check holdings and availability.