Skip to main content

English and American Literature: Digital Collections (NYU subscription)

A resource guide for the study of English and American Literature

Digital Collections (NYU subscription)

These online collections include primary sources (some with searchable text, some with page images), bibliographic information, biographical information, cultural and historical contexts for literature, and more. Access is limited to NYU community members.

HathiTrust Digital Library

Haven't heard of Hathi?  Give it a try!  HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Bibliographic and full text search are available for all volumes in HathiTrust. Public domain volumes are freely accessible to the public and can be downloaded in their entirety with authentication by persons affiliated with partner institutions. NYU Libraries is a HathiTrust partner institution.

Database Search Tips

Here are tips for better search results in databases. This usage works on most databases, but check 'Help' sections for supported search syntax. 

Boolean: (using operators: and, or, not) 

mother and father searches for occurrences of both words within scope defined.

mother or father searches for one or all, but both are not required.

mother not father searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father.’

(mother not father) and god searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father,’ then also requires the word ‘god.’


Truncation: 

art* searches for art, arts, artistic, artful, etc.


Wildcard: 

m?n searches for man and men. 

Ebrary

Can't make it to the library?  Ebook Central to the rescue!  Ebook Central contains more than 40,000 full-text books in a variety of subject areas.  You will have the ability to search, highlight, annotate books on Ebook Central as well as print or download portions of the texts.