Skip to main content

Services for Faculty at the Bern Dibner Library: Access NYU Libraries

Off Campus Access

To  access databases available through the NYU Libraries website, use your NYU NetID and password. 

More information about logging in.

 

NetID Information

Your NetID is printed on the back of your NYU ID card.

You must first activate your Net ID by following the instructions here: http://start.nyu.edu.

You will need your University ID (also printed on the back of your NYU ID card) to help activate your NetID. 

Once you activate it, your NetID is your key to many NYU online resources, including wireless access for your laptop. (See http://www.nyu.edu/its/wireless/ for details about locations).

For more information on using your NETID, read the IT Services FAQ

For help, contact the NYU IT Service Desk.

Passwords

For security reasons, NYU requires that you change your password at least once each year (no exceptions). You will receive notifications from ITS when your password is about to expire.

Finding Full Text

Not all databases will provide you a direct link to the full text of an article. When you see this icon, the database is enabled with SFX, an article linker that connects citations with full text.

When you come across a button that looks like  , click it for a menu of options to get full text. You may be required to enter your NYU NetID and password to follow the link to the full text.  

Bobst Library Onsite Services

You can:

  • Use your NYU ID card to enter NYU libraries.
  • Borrow materials. Visit the NYU library web site for details on circulation privileges for faculty & administrators and students & staff.
  • Borrow videos and CDs from the Avery Fisher Center in the Bobst Library.  Check beforehand to make sure you are registered to borrow videos.
  • Use your wireless laptop at the Bobst Library. You need to use your NYU NetID and password. Information on how to connect.
  • Borrow laptops. They are available in the Library Computer Center on Lower Level 1 of the Bobst Library.
  • Reserve a study room. Use your NYU NetID and complete the electronic reservation form. See Study Rooms for details.

NYU Libraries Delivery Service

Can't make it to Washington Square to pick up a book? Request it to be delivered to Dibner Library!

Information on NYU Libraries Delivery Service.

Specialized Databases

The library will be happy to negotiate access for you to specialized databases offered onsite at Bobst Library.

Because some database publishers restrict the use of their products to particular individuals or specific workstations, you will need to contact us to make arrangements for access. One such database is SciFinder Scholar

Onsite Access to Other NYU Libraries

NYU Libraries

 Fine ArtsReal EstateCourant (Math)DentalLawMedical
Access Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

Please note that access may not include borrowing privileges. Contact a Dibner librarian for further details.

Affiliated Libraries

 Cooper UnionNew SchoolNY School of Interior DesignColumbia University
Access Yes No No Yes*

* Requires registration with the Manhattan Research Library Initiative