Skip to main content

Institute of Fine Arts: Renaissance Art

Search BobCat

Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.

NYU Libraries' online catalog.

Electronic Resources

AIDA Online: The Bibliography "Articoli italiani di periodici accademici (AIDA)" contains nearly 287,000 articles in the humanities from 1,388 Italian periodicals. Publications from the entire spectrum of the humanities, including peripheral disciplines, are covered.

Gli anni della Cupola - The Years of the Cupola: Online edition of the entire contents of the archive of the Opera of the Florentine Cathedral for the years during which Brunelleschi,s cupola was planned and constructed (1417-1436). Compiled by Margaret Haines.

Art Source (EBSCO): Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. ** Art Source is a combination of all the A&I and full-text records in H.W. Wilson’s Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984. In addition there is all the unique A&I and full-text content from Art and Architecture Complete™, plus an additional 100 full text titles not available on any other EBSCOhost®database.

 

BIVIO (Biblioteca Virtuale On-Online): Collection of e-text versions of signal works for Italian cultural studies. Full-text editions of relevance to art historical research include Michelangelo Biondo,s Della nobilissima pittura, and Cesare Ripa,s Iconologia.

Iter: A Bibliography of the Middle Ages and Renaissance; 1843 to present.

Medieval and Early Modern Data Bank: Databases providing information about past currencies and exchange rates.

National Register of Archives: Register of archival materials in the UK. All types of people are included.

Vasari's Le vite: Online version of Giorgio Vasari,s Le vite de, piu, eccellenti architetti, pittori, et scultori italiani, da Cimabue in sino a, tempi nostri: descritte in lingua Toscana, da Giorgio Vasari, pittore Aretino. Con una sua utile & necessaria introduzzione a le arti loro (Firenze: Lorenzo Torrentino, 1550).

Vocabolario Toscano dell'Arte del Disegno: Electronic version of Filippo Baldinucci,s Vocabolario toscano dell,arte del disegno ...: con la notizia de, nomi e qualità delle gioie, metalli, pietre dure, marmi, pietre tenere, sassi, legnami, colori, strumenti, et ogn, altra materia, che servir possa, tanto alla costruzione di edificj e loro ornato, quanto alla stessa pittura e scultura (Firenze: Santi Franchi, 1681). An art- and architecture-focused precursor to the Vocabolario della Crusca, Baldinucci,s dictionary is an excellent place for research into the history of Italian art and technology terms.

Subject Librarian

Michael Hughes's picture
Michael Hughes
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
The Stephen Chan Library of Fine Arts

The Institute of Fine Arts

1 East 78th Street

New York, NY 10075

Telephone: (212) 992-5883