Skip to main content

Caribbean Studies: Literature

A guide for those interested in the literature, culture and history of the Caribbean.

Primary Text Collections

Black Women Writers: A database that provides access to fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries, representing voices of women from Africa and the African diaspora. Currently features over 50,000 pages of poetry and prose.

Caribbean Literature: Searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Caribbean Writers Summer Institute: Digital video recordings of presentations given at the University of Miami's Caribbean Writers Summer Institute, hosted as a five-week summer program by the university's English department from 1991 to 1996.

Centro de Investigaciones Literarias, Casa de las Américas: Literary criticism based out of Havana, Cuba.

Cubanabooks, California State University at Chico: Small independent press devoted to bringing first-class literature from Cuban women to a United States audience as well as to a global English and Spanish-speaking public

Surinaamse Literatuur: A project of the Digitale Bibliotheek voor de Nederlandse letteren, a digital collection of Dutch literature, language and culture. Surinamese literature offerings in Dutch. 

Reference Works

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature, edited by Danilo H. Figueredo. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2006. This encyclopedia overviews the lives and works of Caribbean authors giving special attention to the political, cultural, and historical contexts in which Caribbean authors have lived and worked. 
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean literature, 1900-2003, edited by Daniel Balderston and Mike Gonzalez. London; New York: Routledge, 2004. This work contains more than 200 entries on aspects of literature relevant to the Latin American and Caribbean region.

Histories

Literary Bio-Bibliographies