The Avery Fisher Center for Music and Media, New York University Libraries
- Search NYU Libraries' video holdings using the keyword "Cuban Revolution."
Columbia University Libraries Archival Collections
- Amiri Baraka Papers: Contains correspondence, writings, and personal, political activism and teaching materials related to Amiri Baraka’s career as a poet, writer, editor, and activist. In 1960, Baraka took a seminal trip to Cuba as part of a Fair Play for Cuba Committee delegation, which provided the basis for his essay “Cuba Libre.” Upon his return, he co-authored the statement of support for Fidel Castro, Declaration of Conscience, with Margaret Randall, Marc Schleifer, Elaine de Kooning, Diane Di Prima, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, and Norman Mailer, which was published in the Monthly Review.
- Béla Fábián Papers: Collection includes eighteen political cartoons by Béla and Ilona Fábián done at the time of the Cuban Missile crisis in 1961. These tend to be anti-Castro and anti-Khruschev.
- Lee Lockwood Papers: Notes relating to and manuscripts of Castro's Cuba, Cuba's Fidel (Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1990) authored by Lockwood. Included in the collection are ten tapes of a 22-hour interview with Castro. These tapes contain Lockwood's questions, Castro's answers, and Vallejo's translation into English. An edited transcript of these tapes, signed, and dated by Castro, is included.
- Herbert Lionel Matthews Papers: New York Times journalist Matthews broke the story that Fidel Castro was still alive and in the Sierra Maestra when Fulgencio Batista had claimed Castro had been killed. The collection contains documentation of his Cuba coverage post-Revolution.
Cuban Heritage Collection, University of Miami Libraries
Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
Duke University Libraries
- Caribbean Sea Migration: Collection of archival material relating to sea migrations throughout the Caribbean including Cuba.
- Sea is History: Images and information on Cubans who left the island by sea.
- A non-traditional archive documenting radical/left social movements around the globe. Their collection contains material on Latin America and Cuba, including OSPAAL posters.
The National Security Archive, The George Washington University
- Cuba Documentation Project: Links to documents relating to the: Bay of Pigs invasion, Cuban Missile Crisis, relationship between Kennedy and Castro, death of Che Guevara and U.S.'s "beisbol" diplomacy.
- The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962: The 40th Anniversary: Special project of the National Security Archive with links to digitized declassified documents, audio clips and photographs of the Missile Crisis.
The New School
The New York Public Library Manuscripts and Archives Division
New York Times Company Records
- Theodore M. Bernstein Papers: Theodore M. Bernstein (1904-1979) was a longtime editor at The New York Times, a professor at the Columbia University School of Journalism, and the author of several books on editing and journalism. This collection primarily documents Bernstein's tenure as assistant managing editor at The Times between 1952 and 1969.
- Clifton Daniel Papers: Clifton Daniel (1912-2000) was an acclaimed journalist who served as the managing editor of The New York Times from 1964 through 1969.
- Orvil Dryfoos Papers: Orvil Dryfoos (1912-1963) was a newspaper executive and the publisher of The New York Times from 1961 to 1963. The Orvil Dryfoos papers document Dryfoos's daily activities and the operations of The Times, particularly during his tenure as vice president, president, and publisher from 1954 to 1963.
- The New York Times Foreign Desk Records: Collection of files maintained by the New York Times Company documenting the work and accomplishment of the foreign reporting staff, the operation of the foreign news bureaus around the world, and the process of gathering and editing news from abroad.
- A.M. Rosenthal Papers: Collection documents the editorial career of The New York Times Managing and Executive Editor Abraham Michael Rosenthal (1922-2006), noted for his stewardship of that newspaper during one of its most tumultuous periods, from the 1960s through the 1980s.
- Arthur Hays Sulzberger Papers: Arthur Hays Sulzberger was the publisher of The New York Times from 1935 until 1961 and chairman of the board of The New York Times Company from 1961 until 1968.
Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. Papers: The Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. Papers document the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning American historian Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. (1917-2007), noted for his political activities in the Democratic Party and for his acclaimed accounts of nineteenth and twentieth century history. The collection consists of extensive correspondence, journals, writings, research material, office files and personal records.
The Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, New York University Libraries
- Philip Agee Papers: Philip Burnett Franklin Agee (1935–2008) was a Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) case officer and writer, best known as the author of Inside the Company: CIA Diary (New York: Stonehill, 1975), which identifed about 250 CIA officers, front companies and foreign agents then or previously working for the United States. Exiled from the U.S., and expelled from Great Britain, he died in Cuba in January 2008. The collection contains biographical materials; correspondence; datebooks; documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), notably CIA documents, as well as FBI and State Department documents; and photographs.
- Cedric Belfrage Papers: Socialist, author, journalist, translator, and co-founder of the National Guardian. The collection contains correspondence relating to Cuba and Fidel Castro.
- Leslie Cagan Papers: Leslie Cagan is an activist, organizer and NYU alumna who has been involved in a range of progressive political activities in the United States, and in particular in New York City from the late 1960s to the present. The collection contains extensive documentation on the Cuban Information Project.
- Communist Party of the United States of America Records: The collection contains documents, correspondence and records on communism in Cuba.
- Harold Cruse Papers: Harold Cruse is an African-American author and professor best known for The Crisis of the Negro Intellectual (New York: Morrow, 1967), a Marxist-nationalist critique of the Communist movement and an endorsement of an autonomous and revolutionary Black culture. This collection includes writings on race and the Cuban Revolution as well as a photograph of Fidel Castro.
- Cuban Letters Collection: Contains anti-Castro letters by Cuban residents, solicited for a never-published supplement to the New Leader.
- Daily Worker and Daily World Negatives Collection: The official organ of the Communist Party, USA, the collection includes photographs of prominent Cuban revolutionary figures.
- George Harrison Papers: George Harrison (1915-2004) was a socialist and revolutionary Irish Republican who spent his life supporting the causes of oppressed peoples around the globe. The collection contains documents, photographs and ephemera from post-Revolutionary Cuba.
- James E. Jackson and Esther Cooper Jackson Papers: James E. Jackson (1914-2007) and Esther Cooper Jackson (1917- ) were African-American communists and civil rights activists, best known for their role in founding and leading the Southern Negro Youth Congress (1937-1948). This collection contains subject files on Cuba and Fidel Castro.
- James E. Jackson and Esther Cooper Jackson Photographs Collection: The collection contains photographs of a trip to Cuba.
- Marvin Leiner Papers: Marvin Leiner is a scholar of Cuban education and the author of several books on educational reforms in the wake of the Cuban Revolution. The collection primarily consists of research Leiner conducted while living in Cuba during the 1968-1969 school year and during his many return visits in the 1970s and 1980s.
- National Guardian Photographs: The National Guardian (later known as The Guardian) was a radical leftist weekly newspaper published in New York City between 1948 and 1992. The collection contains photographs of Cuban revolutionary activity.
- Printed Ephemera Collection on Individuals: The collection contains printed ephemera on Fidel Castro.
- Victor Rabinowitz Papers: Victor Rabinowitz (1911- 2007) was an attorney specializing in civil liberties cases, international law, labor law and U.S. constitutional law. He represented the government of Cuba in U.S. courts, and appeared on behalf on many labor unions and leftist individuals and political organizations. The collection contains correspondence, political papers, legal records, and FOIA files.
- Reference Center for Marxist Studies Pamphlet Collection: The collection contains pamphlets relating to Fidel Castro and Cuban revolutionary topics.
- Tamiment Library Poster and Broadside Collection: Cuban political posters produced by OSPAAL (Organización de la Solaridad de los Pueblos de Africa, Asia y Latinoamérica).
Yale University Library Archives and Manuscripts
- Andrew St. George Papers: St. George was an investigative reporter and photographer. He conducted one of the first full-length interviews with Fidel Castro and members of his guerrilla army in the Sierra Maestra during the fall of 1957, later published in Look magazine. The collection contains photographs, films, slides, writings, and clippings documenting Andrew St. George's career as a photojournalist. Finding Aid, Digital Collection
- Cuban Revolution Collection: The collection consists of photographs, films, printed matter, memorabilia and other materials documenting various periods in the Cuban Revolution. Finding Aid, Digital Collection