Below are select sources that collect and disseminate various collections of social data.
For more in-depth info on finding data and statistics, please see our full research guide at guides.nyu.edu/datasources.
- ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR contains the largest collection of social science data available. The topics covered are innumerable and data can be both quantitative or qualitative in nature. Special data archives include "Census 2000 at ICPSR," "Child Care and Early Education Research Connections," "Election 2000 at ICPSR," "Health and Medical Care Archive," "Homicide Research Working Group," "International Archive of Education Data," "National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging," "National Archive of Criminal Justice Data," "Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods," and "Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data Archive." **Users must create a MyData account from an NYU-owned computer to download data.
- Social Science Electronic Data Library
SSEDL contains more than 600 premier datasets and over 275,000 variables that are organized into the following topical data archives: Adolescent Care and Health, Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention, Aging, the American Family, AIDS/STIs, Child Well-Being and Poverty, Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Contextual (Geographic) Data, Disability, and Maternal Drug Abuse.
Provides easy access to statistics and information produced by more than 100 US Federal Government agencies.
- American FactFinder (US Census Bureau)
Gateway to US Census data, including population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Also includes American Community Survey, Population Estimates, Economic Census and Annual Economic Surveys.
- Infoshare Online
Database of statistics about New York City from 1980 to the present. Consists of official statistical data from U.S., New York State, and New York City agencies. Includes population statistics, housing data, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, and more. Data is presented for the geographies that are unique to New York City.
- U.S. Political Stats
This is is an easy-to-use data visualization and research tool designed to provide data on Congress, the Supreme Court, and the Presidency. Draw unique insights and comparisons between interest group scores and election returns, floor votes and demographics, and more. Analyze, compare, and export data in maps, tables, line graphs, bar charts, and pie charts.
- Historical Statistics of the United States
Standard source for the quantitative facts of American history from earliest times to the present. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
- World DataBank
Gateway portal to the World Bank's World Development Indicators, Global Financial Database, Africa Indicators, and more. **Includes the World Bank Gender Portal, a one-stop shop for gender equality data and statistics. Data at the country level are organized under six thematic headings, which are aligned to the themes identified by the Inter-agency and Expert Group on Gender Statistics.
OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) countries and selected non-member economies. Also includes International Energy Agency (IEA) Statistics.
- Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Sources datasets from reputable public and private organizations and covers topics across 16 broad subject areas, including education, population and income, industry, commerce, and trade, housing and construction, and more. All of the data have been standardized and structured and are described with 37 fields of metadata including DOI, summary-level visualizations of the data, descriptions, titles, geographic entities, data-specific elements, and standardized citations. **Requires Java - JVM Version 1.4.2 to operate.**
- Simply Map
A web-based mapping application with access to thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables that can be used to develop interactive thematic maps and export high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software.
- Social Explorer
Allows users to visually display demographic data in the U.S. from 1790 through the present at a variety of geographic levels, create reports, maps and animations that can be downloaded. Includes full tract and country-level historical datasets.
image source: opensourceway