Skip to main content

Grants and Proposals: Step 2: Identifying funding sources

This guide is designed to help you navigate the process of finding and applying for outside funding.

Subject-specific Funding Sources

Please use the links below for a select list of additional resources with funding opportunities in the following areas:

Arts & Humanities

Sciences

Social Sciences

Also, be sure to check out:
NYU Links

Specifically for Individuals

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
A database for finding scholarships, fellowships, grants, and a wide range of financial support to individuals.

General Databases for Identifying Funding Sources

Federal Register
Daily publication that compiles notices of U.S. federal agencies and organizations pertaining to grants programs. 

Foundation Directory Online
Contains information about the largest 10,000 public and private foundations in the U.S. with links to foundation websites. 

Fundsnet
Provides grantwriting- and fundraising-resource assistance while maintaining a Fundraising & Grants Directory at no cost.

Grants.gov
Includes all discretionary grants offered by the 26 federal grant-making agencies covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Records include program scope, eligibility requirements, deadlines, and contacts.

GuideStar: The National Database of Nonprofit Organizations (Premium Pro)

This national database of U.S. charitable organizations gathers and distributes data on more than 850,000 IRS-recognized nonprofits. **Access to the free or premium section of Guidestar requires registration and the creation of a password.

The Chronicle of Philanthropy's Fundraising/Deadlines Search 
Along with news, The Chronicle offers such service features as lists of grants, fundraising ideas and techniques, statistics, reports on tax and court rulings, summaries of books, and a calendar of events.

Web of Science Core Collection 
Provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.  To discover potential funding sources, conduct a search on a research topic of interest and then sort the results based on Funding Agencies in the left-hand sidebar of the results page; click the more options/values... to see all the results.