Skip to main content

Middle East and Islamic Studies Guide: Search Books and Articles

In Arabic

A collection of electronic books in Arabic. The collection ranges from contemporary novels to national heritage scientific treatises, with over 6500 titles written by Arab authors of all genres.

Indexes and Databases (mostly for materials in European languages)

Core Databases

Brill Online Reference Works 

Brill Online is a searchable suite of databases. NYU's subscription includes the following: Brill's New Pauly, Der Neue Pauly, Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition, Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE, Encyclopaedia of the Quran, Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures, Brockelmann Online, Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics and Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World.

Humanities Source (EBSCO)    

This database offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. ** Humanities Source is a combination of following databases from EBSCO and H.W. Wilson: 'Humanities Index Retrospective', 'Humanities Abstracts', 'Humanities Full Text' and 'Humanities International Complete'.

Index Islamicus

Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world  of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. Dates of coverage: 1906 to present.

Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest)

Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,250 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years.

PAIS International 

Useful for public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Coverage is international. Topics range from human rights to law and ethics to trade. Covers 1972 to present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Coverage is international. Date coverage: 1975 to present.

OmniFile FT 

Multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Dates of coverage: 1982 to present.

Background Information

Oxford Islamic Studies Online 

Includes 3500 entries on reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated. 

Brill Online Reference Works 

History

Index Islamicus

Historical Abstracts with Full Text 

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages. Publication dates of coverage: 1955 to present. 

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine    

International bibliography of the history of science, technology and medicine.Search for journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations in all scientific disciplines and related fields. Dates of coverage: 1975 to present.

 Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest)

Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,250 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years.

Literature

Index Islamicus More information about  Index Islamicus

MLA International Bibliography (via Literature Online) More information about  MLA International Bibliography (via Literature Online)

Provides about 2 million records for books, book chapters, and journal articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Provides online, full-text access to many of those articles. Covers items published from around 1920 to the present. NOT INCLUDED: Reviews of literary and scholarly works.

Relgious Studies

Index Islamicus More information about  Index Islamicus

ATLA Religion Database More information about  ATLA Religion Database

A comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship. The file contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. Dates of coverage: 1949 to the present.

Oxford Scholarship Online More information about  Oxford Scholarship Online

Offers quality content you can trust, with instant and comprehensive coverage of over 8,000 titles in 20 subject areas, covering the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online More information about  Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Includes 3500 entries on reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated.

News and Journalism

PressDisplay More information about  PressDisplay

Provides access to the most current 3 months of newspapers around the world. Newspapers are presented in a browsable and visual format.

Mideast Wire More information about  Mideast Wire

English translations of news from 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab media Diaspora generally, including North Africa and the UK.

Access World News More information about  Access World News

Search across local, regional and national US newspapers. Also includes international English language newspapers and news wires. Dates of coverage vary from title to title.

Factiva More information about  Factiva

Search for U.S. and international newspapers, news transcripts, trade journals and more for news and business information. **NYU NetID and Password required.

World News Connection More information about  World News Connection

Provides access to over 1 million foreign newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines from Beijing, Beirut, Bogota, Cairo, Jakarta,Iraq, Mogadishu, Qatar, Ramallah, Sarajevo, Vienna, and hundreds of other spots around the world - methodically translated into English by the US Government.

LexisNexis Academic Universe More information about  LexisNexis Academic Universe

Provides access to full-text newspapers (U.S. and some international), news wires, transcripts, and trade journals.

Finding Books Outside of Bobst

Organizing references

Ref Works

RefWorks is a free (to the NYU community) Web-based program you can use to organize your research

Want to learn more? Check out RefWork's online help, or register for a RefWorks class.

 

EndNote 

Endnote is a desk-top program that will help you organize and format your sources, is available for download through NYU.

Want to learn more? Check out EndNote's online support, or register for an EndNote class.