Skip to main content

Middle East and Islamic Studies Guide: Islamic Law and Society

Databases and Bibliographies

Encyclopaedia of Islam   includes all material from EI2 (1955-2005) and EI3 (2007-), AND all maps from Historical Atlas of Islam. 
HeinOnline   Contains the full-text of law review journals. Also contains: Code of Federal Regulations, English Reports (1220-1867), Federal Register Library,Bar Journals, Code of Federal Regulations, English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867), European Center for Minority Issues, Federal Register Library, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), Harvard Research in International Law, Legal Classics, Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, National Moot Court Competition,New York Court of Appeals Records and Briefs, New York Legal Research Library,Philip C. Jessup Library, Session Laws Library,Subject Compilations of State Laws (1960-2009), Tax Foundation Archive, Treaties and Agreements Library, Trends in Law Library Management and Technology, United Nations Law Collection, United States Code, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Congressional Documents, U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, and U.S. Supreme Court Library, and World Trials Library
Index Islamicus   Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. 
A powerful resource for all of the extensive full-text legal content. It offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment. ** Legal Source is a combination of 'Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective', 'Index to Legal Periodicals & Books', 'Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text', and 'Legal Collection'
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies  examines the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. This interdisciplinary field combines history, religion, philosophy, anthropology, Arabic language and literature, as well as literatures in other languages including Persian, Turkish, and Urdu. Includes bibliographies for the four Sunni schools of law and for most Shi'i sects.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online   includes 3500 entries on reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated. This is the main access point to The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Law. 
Oxford Constitutions of the World. Oxford Constitutions of the World is the only resource to contain regularly updated, fully-translated English-language versions of all of the world’s constitutions. On an all new state-of-the-art platform, the constitutions are accompanied by individual commentaries and supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical constitutions, and amendment Acts/laws, and a collection of scholarly monographs.

Ottoman Court Records

Anatolia:

Anatolian Court Records in Bobst

Istanbul:

The Court Records of Istanbul

Bulgaria:

Court records from Sofia, Vidin and Ruse from St. Cyril and Methodius Digital Library

Egypt:

al-Wathāʼiq al-ʻUthmānīyah : dirāsah arshīfīyah wathāʼiqīyah li-sijillāt Maḥkamat al-Bāb al-ʻĀlī

Wathāʼiq Banī Suwayf fī al-ʻaṣr al-ʻUthmānī : qirāʼah fī sijil min Maḥkamat al-Bāb al-ʻĀlī, 5 Jumādá al-Ākhir 1048 H-2 Dhū al-Ḥijjah 1051 H / 14 Uktūbir 1638 M-4 Mārs 1642 M

Lebanon:

Awqāf al-Muslimīn fī Bayrūt fī al-ʻAhd al-ʻUthmānī : sijillāt al-Maḥkamah al-Sharʻīyah fī Bayrūt

Palestine:

Sijill Maḥkamat al-Quds al-Sharʻīyah al-ʻUthmānīyah raqm 152

Sijillāt Maḥkamat al-Quds al-Sharʻīyah : sijill raqm 107

Jews in the Court Records of Jerusalem (16th-19th cent) [in Hebrew]:

Syria:

Yahūd al-Shām fī al-ʻaṣr al-ʻUthmānī : min khilāla sijilāt al-maḥākim al-sharʻīyah fī Markaz al-Wathāʼiq al-tārīkhīyah bi-Dimashq, 991 H-1336 H/1583 M-1909 M

Dalīl sijillāt al-maḥākim al-sharʻīyah al-ʻUthmānīyah al-maḥfūẓah bi-Markaz al-Wathāʼiq al-Tārīkhīyah bi-Dimashq