Skip to main content

Dance Education: Finding Articles/Databases

Provides an introduction to resources in the field of dance. This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and other topical and collection-related information.

Featured Database!

A VERY important database! There are no full text links to this database so you will need to use BobCat, OCLC and google scholar to find these items.

An index of literature and research from 1926 to the present that informs teaching, learning, and future directions of research in the field of dance education. It contains extensive descriptions of 4,100+ literary works including theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and other reports from over 200+ different publications and organizations and 147 university dance programs. In addition to providing basic citation information, the DELRdi provides detailed descriptive information on the methodology, techniques, and characteristics of the research documented in the index. The DELRdi is the culminating product of a four-year research project supported by the United States Department of Education (2001-2005).

Quick Check of Databases

FEATURED NEW JOURNAL! Journal of Dance & Somatic Practices

Loading

3 Things to Remember

When using article databases, remember there are always three stages in your workflow (the "three Ds"):

1) Discovery: Do (and redo!) your searching, using varying terms and combining using the Boolean operators "and, or, not" to get good results. Your first search is not your best search, but rather an opportunity to learn how to immediately do a better search

2) Delivery: For items that you like, select the link to the fulltext if available, or click on the button to see if we own the item. If you want to keep this item, either save it to your own computer, email it to yourself, or print it.

3) Database it: Keep the "meta-information" about all that good resources you found for your records and to make your bibliographies. You will find yourself returning to resources so having a system in place will save you time and aggravation later. The NYU Libraries offer a number of tools to our users to help with this, in particular a tool called RefWorks.  Remember when using Refworks, sometimes it makes mistakes! Be sure to check the MLA or APA guide  to be sure your citations are correct.

How to search for articles

Articles & Databases
 I have listed the most common databases for use in dance research below. Not all the Library databases are available here, so you may need to consult our complete list of databases.

Important Dance Journals

Popular Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool

Other Article Databases of Interest