Skip to main content

South Asian Studies

This South Asian Studies Research Guide is a library tool to assist scholars and students at NYU in finding useful resources (in print and online) on South Asia.

East India Company

This East India Company digital resource allows students and researchers to access a collection of primary source documents from the India Office Records held by the British Library, including royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947.

ISI Emerging Markets

ISI Emerging markets

 

  • Summary: Company and industry information, financial market data, and macroeconomicanalysis for more than 35 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America and Central and Eastern Europe. So far, India and Sri Lanka are the two countries covered from South Asia.
  • Publisher: New York : Internet Securities
  • Language: Multiple languages ; English

Times of India Online Archives (1838-2001)

India, Raj & Empire

India, Raj & Empire

"Drawing upon the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this searchable online resource provides access to digital facsimiles of diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works. The collection documents the relationship between Britain and India in an empire where the Scots played a central role as traders, generals, missionaries, viceroys, governor-generals and East India Company officials. The dates of the documents range from 1710 to 1937".

  • Publisher: Marlborough, Wiltshire, England : Adam Matthew Digital
  • Language: English
  • Publication: Date: 2008

Map as History (electronic version)

Map as history

an animated hisorical map collection

Under this, Europe's Colonial Expansion, 1820-1939  has maps related to the Brirish Empire.

Bharat Ek Khoj (Discovery of India) video

Bharat Ek Khoj (18 discs)

Summary: A 5,000-year political, social, and cultural history of India, from its beginnings through the coming of independence in 1947.

  • Publisher: India : Doordarshan
  • Language: Hindi
  • Publication Date: c2007

Afghanistan Digital Library

The objective of the Afghanistan Digital Library is to retrieve and restore the first sixty years of Afghanistan’s published cultural heritage. The project catalogues and digitizes as many Afghan publications from 1871–1930 as possible to identify and locate.

India GIS Data

India GIS data in ESRI SHP format

  • Restrictions/Permissions: To access this data, please contact the Data Service Studio at data.service@nyu.edu or (212) 998-3434.
  • Notes: Contents: IndiaMap -- VillageMap -- PollMap -- HistoricMap.
    Summary: Includes four data sets: IndiaMap includes socio-demographic and economic Census data for 2001 at the State, District, Sub-District, and Town levels. VillageMap includes socio-demographic and economic Census data for 2001 at the Village level. PollMap includes parliamentary constituency boundaries and data relating to the past four national elections [1986-2004]. Optionally, an application for historical analysis and impact of regional and statewise swings can be added. HistoricMap shows decadal change in district boundaries of India since 1951. Socio-demographic data is included for the census years i.e. 1951, 1961, 1971, 1981, 1991 and 2001.
  • Publisher: New Delhi : ML InfoMap Pvt. Ltd.
  • Language: English
  • Publication Date: c2008
  • Description: 1 computer optical disc ; 4 3/4 in..

Foreign Office Flies for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan

 Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan

 Section I. Independence, partition, and the Nehru era, 1947-64 

 Section II. South Asian conflicts and independence for Bangladesh, 1964-71

 Section III. Afghanistan and the Cold War, emergency rule in India, and the resumption of civilian rule in Pakistan, 1972-80

* all the three sections are fully accessible now!

  • Summary: "These three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. This was a turbulent era in the region's history. The partition of 1947 and the splitting apart of Pakistan in 1971 were accompanied by loss of life and enormous population movements, as refugees fled violence or ethnic conflict. India fought Pakistan twice in Kashmir, in 1947-8 and 1965, and China in the Himalayas in 1962. Stable and democratic government proved elusive outside India, the region experiencing a succession of coups: in Pakistan in 1958 and 1977, in Afghanistan in 1973, 1978 and 1979, and in Bangladesh in 1975; democracy underwent a flowering and then a withering in Nepal, where King Mahendra established a partyless autocracy in 1959. Even in India, which had successfully established a democratic, secular state at independence, the government of India Gandhi became increasingly authoritarian and intolerant of dissent in the 1970s, imprisoning hundreds of opponents.... The files in this collection cover these events from the standpoint of British officialdom. In addition to high politics, the papers in the files cover such issues as economic and industrial development, trade, migration, visits to South Asia by British politicians and by South Asian politicians to Britain and elsewhere, education, administrative reorganisation, conflict over language, aid, political parties, agriculture and irrigation, and television and the press. Together they form a resource of fundamental value to scholars and students of modern South Asia."
  • Publisher: Marlborough, Wiltshire : Adam Matthew Digital
  • Language: English
  • Publication Date: c2011

South Asia Librarian

Aruna Pulipaka Magier's picture
Aruna Pulipaka Magier
Contact:
Aruna Magier

Mezzanine M02

Bobst Library, NYU

70 Washington Square South

New York, NY 10012



phone: 212-992-7548

email: aruna.magier@nyu.edu