Skip to main content

Slavic Studies: Current/Historic Slavic News Sources and Online Periodicals

Library resources for Slavic Studies research

See Also

 For digitized historic Slavic periodicals, see the Slavic Internet Resources Research Guide

Human Rights Libguide  Search by country

From Perestroika to the Fall of the Soviet Union (Microfilm)

CRL Historical Russian Newspaper Collections

CRL Historical Russian Newspaper Collections on Microfilm

Thematic Russian newspapers collections created by The Center for Research Libraries through its Slavic and East European Microfilm Project (SEEMP) are available to NYU affiliates, via interlibrary loan. These collections include:

1. Newspapers of the October Revolution, Jan. 3 through Dec. 31, 1917 (click for list of 71 titles)

2. Russian Regional Newspapers, 1990-2006 (click and scroll down for list of 22 titles)

3. Russian Right-Wing Extremist Press, 1990-1999  (click and scroll down to p. 33)
260 newspaper titles, 1990-2005; includes Russian nationalist organs in Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, and Baltic countries with monarchist, nationalist, fascist, and conservative Orthodox views.  
Catalog record  Reel Index to Part I  Reel Index to Part II  Reel Index to Part III  

Czech Republic: Kramerius Digbital Library: Periodicals and Monographs

Kramerius Digital Library Czech Republic

Digital library Kramerius is a project of the National Library of the Czech Republic. Contains around 6 million scanned pages, including 796 periodicals. Some of the documents are in German, Russian, English and other languages.

Current Slavic News Sources with Backfiles: Digital Full Text

Universal Database of Regional Russian Newspapers (East View)
The Universal Database of Regional Russian Newspapers (UDB-REG) provides coverage of developments throughout Russia's regions. This database currently presents newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation and includes coverage of local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. The database includes the Northern Caucasus (Groznenskii rabochii from Chechnya, Severnaia Osetiia from Northern Osetiia-Alania, etc.), Western Siberia (Tiumenskie izvestiia, etc.), the Volga region (Nizhegorodskie novosti from Nizhnii Novgorod or Samarskie izvestiia from Samara), and many others.

FBIS Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports, 1941-1996  (from library.nyu.edu search FBIS in databases by title)
Daily translated reports of news stories and broadcasts from various regions around the world, including the Soviet Union and Russia.

Access World News Country/Title List for English Language Slavic/Eurasian/East European Newspapers

Factiva Title List, Alphabetized by Language

Russian online journals: Zhurnal'nyi zal

Zhurnal'nyi zal     http://magazines.russ.ru/

Download below document for list of journals. Title list is on left side of screen.

Open Access Russian, Czech, Polish Journals

Open Access Journals Database

Click on the above link for the UNESCO-sponsored international database, with access to journals. Choose country from drop down box, and sort by publication, subject, date, or title. At present, there are 123 Russian, 52 Polish, and 35 Czech journals.
     For alphabetized lists of the open access Russian journals, download the below. Ctrl+Click for access. 

Polish Open Access Academic Online Journals

 From  Liladhar R. Pendse's Slavic Studies Librarianship blog. Download the document below for alphabetized list with links to over 440 Polish open access journals compiled by Dr. Jan Szczepański. For access, Ctrl+click