Skip to main content

Slavic Studies: Slavic Cinema

Library resources for Slavic Studies research

Finding Slavic Films in the Avery Fisher Center

Type a few words from the film title in the Bobcat search box, then use the facets on the left to limit by format (video), language (Russian, Polish, Czech, etc.), or place of production.

You can see all the films we have in a given language by typing the word "films" (with the quotation marks) in the Bobcat search box, and then using the facets on the left to limit by language.

Mosfil'm: Watch and Download

Large online collection of Mosfil'm cinema (no English subtitles) to watch and download. Arranged by genre.

Liladhar Pendse's Ten Russian Movies Related Sites

Russian Film Posters

Russian and Soviet Film Collections

There are over 1,100 Russian films in the Bobst Avery Fisher Collection including the following series: 

1. Entsiklopediia Mastera Kino.
A collection of 245 classic Soviet films made between 1927 and 1953, remastered on DVD, and a supplemental list of 55 films. Some on order. (Title list below.)

2. Early Russian Cinema: Films Before the Revolution. 
A video anthology of 28 silent films from Russia before the 1917 Revolution (Avery Fisher Center, VCA 2950-2959). (Title list below.)

Russian and Soviet Film Journals: Electronic, Paper, and Microfilm

For Film Journal titles, see http://guides.nyu.edu/content.php?pid=38618&sid=509381

Electronic:

1. Studies in Russian & Soviet Cinema (from 2007, see e-journals page)

2. Iskusstvo kino (electronic 1931-2011 digital archive and 2012-presnt via Universal Database of Russian Newspapers; paper in Bobst (1-9, 1990, PN1993 .I7)

3. KinoKultura

4. Primary Sources: Early Russian CinemaA collection of 57 Russian film periodicals published from 1907-1918, Online access, but searching by title only.
       Title list

 

Paper:

1. Kino i zhizn' (PN1993 .S694 no.2,6[1930])

2. Slavic and East European Performance (from 2002, PN2720.S65)

3. Sovetskii ekran (1926-1929)
(Spec.Col PN1993 .S694 Oversize)

4. Soviet film (1967-1990, PN1993.5.R9 S543)

5. Sovetskoe kino Feb. 1926-March 1928

  Microfilm:

1. Early Russian Cinema (Leiden, Netherland)
A collection of 34 Russian film periodicals on microfilm, published between 1907 and 1917.
(MF 2734 RFP1-34)

2, Soviet cinema: film periodicals, 1918-1942 (in Cataloging, 5/10/2012; contact Diana Greene diana.greene@nyu.edu for assistance)
A collection of 27 film journals and 12 film newspapers
     Part I. Journals (27)   Title list 
     Part II. Newspapers (12)  Title list

3. Ekran (v. 1-32, 1921-1922) (Bobst Microform (Fiche by title)

 

Archival Materials about Soviet Film on Microfilm

1.   Soviet Cinema: Archival Documents from RGALI, 1921-1935. 8 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. Material from the Russian State Archive of Literature and Art (RGALI), Moscow. Documents cover the period when state monopoly control over the Soviet film industry was being established. They cover minutes of board meetings and discussions of major issues confronting  the medium.  Microform Film 10778

 2.   Mosfilm Studio (1938-1945) = Moskovskaia kinostudiia "Mosfilm" (1938-1945). 12 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. + 1 guide (1 v. unpaged ; 28 cm.)
Microform / PN1993.5.R9 M675

 

Useful Library of Congress Subject Headings

Materials about Russian cinema can be found in Bobcat or WorldCat by doing a subject search using the following headings

Motion Pictures, Russian

Motion Pictures—Russia

Motion Pictures—Soviet

Motion Pictures—Russia (Federation)

To do a subject search, go to Bobcat Standard and select "Subjects" in lower ("Browse") drop down menu.