Skip to main content

Slavic Studies: Beyond NYU, Slavic

Library resources for Slavic Studies research

Specialized Slavic Internet Sites

Specialized Slavic Reference

Cyrillic Union Catalog. Library of Congress, 1963     Bobst Microprint MP6
Lists holdings as of 1956 for the Library of Congress and many other U.S. libraries for Slavic books. Access by author, title, and subject. Often the only place to find older Slavic imprints.

A Guide to Scholarly Resources on the Russian Empire and the Soviet Union in the New York Metropolitan Area. Armonk, N.Y.: Sharpe, 1990.
Bobst REF1 Z2491 .G86 1990
Many unknown or specialized New York City Slavic collections.

Useful Slavic Internet Sites by Country or Region

Republic of Tatarstan: Bibliographical publications
     The National Library of Tatarstan
     Tatarstan National Bibliography 2013 pt. 2
     Tatarstan National Bibliography 2009-2012 pt. 1
     Literary Monuments of Tatar History and Culture, Bibliography
     Reference Works about Tatarstan, 1961-98
     Recommended Index to the Republic of Tatarstan vyp. 4-5

     Catalogs:
       Important dates, Tatarstan, 2016;  Kazan Union Catalog of Periodicals; Journal Catalog ; Newspaper Catalog ; Catalog of Refereed Electronic Journals; List of Library Journals ; Catalog of Foreign Language Journals ; Catalog of Kazan Journals and Newspapers ; Catalog of Pre-Revolutionary Journals and Newspapers ; Catalog of Books in Pre-Revolutionary Orthography ; Catalog of Rare Books ; Catalog of the Vtorov Fond ; Catalog of the Sakharov Fond ; Printed Exhibition Catalogs 

Libraries with Strong Slavic Collections

 United States

The New York Public Library Catalog
   Description of the Slavic and Baltic Division

Columbia University Catalog

East Coast Consortium of Slavic Library Collections

Library of Congress Catalog
   Czech and Slovak Collections
   Polish Collections
   Russian Collections
   South Slavic Collections

Harvard University Catalog

University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana Catalog

Stanford University Catalog
   Description of Slavic and East European Collections

University of Chicago Catalog
   Description of Slavic and East European Collection

Center for Research Libraries Catalog
   Search newspapers by country

International libraries

British Library Catalogs
   Description of Slavonic and East European Collections

Czech National Library
for catalogs and databases: 

Polish National Library


Russian National (formerly Saltykov-Shchedrin) Library*
   Search Catalog of Russian books, 1725-1998 
   Help

Russian State (former Lenin) Library*    Catalogs

VGBIL State Library of Foreign Literatures*    Catalog

* requires Russian keyboard. Russian keyboards available in the General, Humanities, and Social Science reference center on the first floor of Bobst Library (Ref1).

Russian Archives

Archives in Russia  (Arkhivy Rossii)

Amherst Center for Russian Culture

Osip Mandelshtam Papers at Princeton University

Revelations from the Russian Archives (Library of Congress)

Soviet Archives (Documents)

Hoover Library and Archives

Hoover Institution Library Pamphlet Database
   55,000 pamphlets including many in all Slavic languages

Polish Archives 

Polish Archives 

Polish Regional Archives

Polish Digital Archives

 Dispersed Archives 

'A Survey of the Dispersed Archives of the Einsatzstab Reichsleiter Rosenberg (ERR)' by Patricia Grimsted (online)

Slavic Digital Collections

For Slavic Digital Collections See Slavic Studies Online Resources Guide.

WorldCat

Interlibrary Loan

Central Asian Resources

Uzbekistan The national library of Uzbekistan database (for rare books and manuscripts -http://nodir.natlib.uz:8095/ 
                  Turkestanskii sbornik http://nodir.natlib.uz:8095/Record/Demoview?id=15102&filename=78.pdf
 

Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan microfilmed newspapers via the Center for Research Libraries
Kazakhstan
Aq bosagha  1993-1997  record
Monthly newspaper from the League of Muslim Women

Industrial’naia Karaganda  1997-1998  record
Newspaper of the Karaganda Oblast in central Kazakhstan

Nauka Kazakhstana  1994-2000  record
Biweekly publication of the Ministry of Science – Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Ortalyq Qazaqstan  1997-1998  record
Newspaper from central Kazakhstan, published thrice weekly

Qazaq eli   1995-2010   record
Weekly newspaper produced by the government

Qazaqstan mughalimi  1988-2010  record
Published by the Ministry of Education

Qazaqstan sarbazy  1994-2007  record
Issued by the Defense Ministry of Kazakhstan

Uchitel’Kazakhstana  1993-2007  record
Published by the Ministry of Science and Education

Uzbekistan

Golos Uzbekistana  1995-1996  record 
Russian-language weekly issued by the People’s Democratic Party

Ma’rifat  2000-2009  record 
A principal newspaper of Tashkent, issues twice a week.

Oila va zhamiiat  1992-2009  record 
Newspaper of the Women’s Committee of Uzbekistan; focuses on social and women’s issues