Skip to main content

Slavic Studies: Russian and Slavic Resources in English

Library resources for Slavic Studies research

Beyond Bobst

University of Illinois Libguide, Finding English Language Sources for Social ScienceTopics - Russia, Eastern Europe and Eurasia
http://uiuc.libguides.com/REEEC200

Russian Literature in English Translation

Glas New Russian Writing, available in print from 1991, PG3277.5.G537 Index of authors

Chtenia is available in print in Current Periodicals 3rd Floor from 2013. Index of authors,

 

English Language Journal Databases and Primary Sources for Soviet History

ABSEES -  American Bibliography of Slavic and European Studies. Many English-language journal articles. Excellent for Slavic history. Includes book reviews.
      Indexes journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada. Covers East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. Dates of coverage: 1939 to present.

Dissertation Abstracts - U.S. dissertations, 1861-present, many on Slavic subjects. Use abstract or title search for most focused results.

Historical Abstracts 1954-present - Use Advanced Search, limit by English language. Excellent database for all world history except North America since 1450. Covers journal articles, books and dissertations from the U.S., and journal articles from Western and Eastern Europe.

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography - Limit results by English language. Excellent coverage of Russian literature and culture. Journal articles, etc., in all languages on literature, linguistics, folklore, popular culture, and film. 

English-Language Primary Sources for the Study of Soviet History Edit/Delete Quick Stats  Conceived of and developed by Professor Terry Martin

Supported by the Office of the Dean of Undergraduate Education and Harvard University.

Seventeen Moments in Soviet History Edit/Delete Quick Stats - Seventeen Moments in Soviet History contains a rich archive of texts, images, maps and audio and video materials from the Soviet era (1917-1991). The materials are arranged by year and by subject, are fully searchable, and are translated into English.

Russian-Language Journals in English Translation (Electronic, Full Run)

Anthropology & Archeology of Eurasia (Vol. 1, Summer 1962)

European Education (Vol. 1, Spring 1969)

Journal of Russian & East Euro Psychology (Vol. 1, Fall 1962)

Problems of Economic Transition (Vol. 1, May 1958)

Russian Education & Society (Vol. 1, Nov 1958)

Russian Politics & Law (Vol. 1, Summer 1962)

Russian Social Science Review (Vol. 1, August 1960) 

Russian Studies in History (Vol. 1, Summer 1962) 

Russian Studies in Literature (Vol. 1, Winter 1964/65)

Russian/Soviet Studies in Philosophy (Vol. 1, Summer 1962)

Sociological Research (Vol. 1, Summer 1962)

English Language USSR and Russian Federation Newspapers

Access World News English Language Newspapers

Access World News Database has many English-language newspapers from Slavic, East European, and Eurasian countries. See the document below for country/title list. Archives from late 1990s or 2000.

Art, Architecture, Local History, Culture

Russian History Resources in English

Encyclopedia of Russian History James R. Millar, ed. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004.

Modern Encyclopedia of Russian, Soviet, and Eurasian History. Gulf Breeze: Academic International, 1976-95. 58 v 
Bobst REF1 DK14 .M6

Great Soviet Encyclopedia [English translation of 3rd edition of the Bol'shaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia] 31 v. N.Y.: Macmillan, 1973-1983.
Bobst REF1 AE55 .B62313 1973

Anthony Cross, In the Lands of the Romanovs: An Annotated Bibliography of First-hand English-language Accounts of the Russian Empire (1613-1917)

Virtual Gulag Museum
 a collection of material testimonies to the era of the Soviet terror. These testimonies are scattered through multiple museums and collections and also include "non-museum objects": ruins of camps and structures, monuments and memorial signs. The Virtual Museum of the Gulag is a project of the Research and Information Centre "Memorial" (St Petersburg).

Bibliography of Soviet Labor Camp Memoirs in English by Sarah J. Young

Russians in London, Sarah J. Young
 with color coded markers to indicate various places in London associated with Russians.

Documents in Russian History
 On-line repository of primary documents. All of the documents are either original translations or are, as far as we can determine, in the public domain. Permission is granted to use the documents for non-commercial purpose under a Creative Commons license.
    Contents

English Language Primary Sources for the Study of Soviet History

Russian Literature Resources in English

The Modern Encyclopedia of East Slavic, Baltic, and Eurasian Literatures. Gulf Breeze, FL: Academic International Press, 1977-89. Vols. 1-3 have title: Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet literature
Bobst REF1 PG2940 .M63 1977

Reference guide to Russian literature /editor, Neil Cornwel, 1998 
Bobst  REF1 PG2940 .R44 1998

Handbook of Russian Literature. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1985.
Bobst REF1 PG2940 .H29 1985
Articles on literary genres and movements as well as on Russian writers.

Dictionary of Russian Women Writers. Westport: Greenwood, 1994.
Bobst REF1 PG2997 .D53 1994