Skip to main content

Slavic Studies: Russian Archival Research

Library resources for Slavic Studies research

Archival Guides

 Archives of the Soviet Communist Party opisi = finding aids only
A collection of finding aids and records documenting the activities of the Soviet State and Communist Party from 1917 until 1991. Microfilmed from the holdings of the Centre for the Preservation of Contemporary Documentation (TsKhSD), the Russian State Archives of Social and Political History (Rossiĭskiĭ gosudarstvennyĭ arkhiv sot͡sialʹno-politicheskoĭ istorii -- RGASPI), the Russian Centre for the Preservation and Study of Documents of Most Recent History (RTsKhIDNI), and the State Archives of the Russian Federation (GARF)"Accompanied by xeroxed guide of Opisi/Finding aids. 454 microfilm reels.
NYU Bobst / Microform Film 9701 / Non-circulating

 

Search engine for materials in all Russian Federal and Regional Archives
http://www.orthedu.ru/ch_hist/hist/arhyves-/11arkhivy-rossii%20-a-.htm

 

Congresses of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, 1955-1986 : from the holdings of Russian State Archive of Contemporary History, Moscow, Russia = Sʺezdy Kommunisticheskoĭ partii Sovetskogo Soi͡uza, 1955-1986 : iz fondov Rossiĭskogo gosudarstvennogo arkhiva noveĭsheĭ istorii.
Accompanies microfilm and microfiche collection with same title. 2 v.
NYU Bobst Tamiment / Main Collection JN6598.K7 C648 2001 / Non-circulating

 

Department for relations with foreign communist parties (International Department of the Central Committee), 1953-1957  from the holdings of Russian State Archive of Contemporary History, Moscow Russia = 
Otdel TSK KPSS po sviaziam s inostrannymi kompartiiami (Mezhdunarodnyĭ otdel TSK KPSS), 1953-1957 gody : iz fondov Rossiĭskogo gosudarstvennogo arkhiva noveĭsheĭ istorii, Moskva, Rossiia
Accompanies microfilm collection with the same title.
NYU Bobst Tamiment / Main Collection JN6598.K7 D46 2000 / Non-circulating

 

Institut istorii (Akademii͡a nauk SSSR). Leningradskoe otdelenie. Arkhiv
Putevoditel' po arkhivu
NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference CD 1739.L4 A46 Non-circulating


Katalog lichnykh arkhivnykh fondov otechestvennykh istorikov
NYU Bobst / Main Collection DK38.5 .A36 2001

 

 Lichnye arkhivnye fondy v gosudarstvennykh khranilishchakh SSSR: ukazatelʹ 
NYU Bobst / Main Collection CD1734.R87 1963
 

Otdel kul'tury TSK KPSS : 1953-1966 : annotirovannye opisi / [sostaviteli M. IU. Kiselev ... [i dr.].
NYU Bobst / Main Collection CD1733.3 .O88 2004

 

Otdel rukopisei, Rossiiskaia natsional'naia biblioteka
    General Information
    Document search
    Fond and opis' search
 

Plenums of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, 1941-1990 : from the holdings of the Russian State Archive of Contemporary History, Moscow, Russia  =
Plenumy TSentralʹnogo Komiteta Kommunisticheskoĭ partii Sovetskogo Soiuza, 1941-1990 : iz fondov Rossiĭskogo Gosudarstvennogo arkhiva noveĭsheĭ istorii, Moskva, Rossiia
 

    Accompanies microfilm collection with same title
    NYU Bobst Tamiment/ JN6598.K7 T75 2001 Non-circulating 

 

Russian regional archival guides = Putevoditeli po arkhivam regionov Rossii. Microfilm/ Film 10782 
Includes 81 guides to specific regional archives of Russia on the Republic, krai, and oblast' levels. A printed introduction, description, and table of contents of this microfilm set can be downloaded from Bobcat.

     Reels 1-11: 29 general reference and subject-specific directories covering archival holdings in many Russian regional archives.
     Reels 12-30: 81 guides to specific regional archives of Russia on the Republic, krai, and oblast' levels.
     A printed introduction, description, and table of contents of this microfilm set can be downloaded from the Bobcat record. 
     http://tinyurl.com/ck3dgzh
 
http://dds.crl.edu/CRLdelivery.asp?tid=13581 

 

 

 

.



 

Russian Archival Materials Available in Bobst

1. Archives of the Soviet Communist Party and the Soviet State. RGASPI, Fond 17, Central Committee of the Communist Party of the USSR, Opis' 2. Plenums of the Central Committee of the RKP(b) 1918-1941. 88 reels of microfilm.
Film 9701. Paper guide available in Microform Room.

2. Comintern [Communist International] Archive
14,569 microfiches
NYU Bobst Tamiment / Main Collection Micro 84 / Non-circulating

3. Files of the Communist Party of the USA in the Comintern Archives 
326 microfilm reels + 81 p. guide, also available online
http://www.idcpublishers.info/cpusa/
NYU Bobst Tamiment / Main Collection Film R-7548 / Non-circulating

4. The Gulag Press. includes 134 titles, containing news bulletins, posters, literary journals, albums and booklets 649 microfiches. Paper guide available in Microforms room.
   Microform MF 2785 / Non-circulating 

5. Obshchii otdel TSK KPSS, 1953-1966 gody = The General Department of the Central Committee, 1953-1966. 118 reels
Film 9533. Paper guide available in Microform Room and Tamiment

6. Papers of Dmitrii Antonovich Volkogonov. 10,170 items. Film 8048
The Library of Congress online guide.
http://findingaids.loc.gov/db/search/xq/searchMferDsc04.xq?_id=loc.mss.eadmss.ms009065&_faSection=contentsList&_faSubsection=series&_dmdid=d101176e23&_start=1&_lines=125 

7. Sobranie dokumentov samizdatov. 20,000 pp. of samizdat documents. In processing  12/2012. Contact Slavic Studies Librarian

8. Trudy kommissii Vysochaishe uchrezdennoi dlia peresmotra sistemy podatei i sborov 1863- Microform / Film 10157

Guides to Russian Archival Research