Skip to main content

Slavic Studies: Slavic Languages and Literatures

Library resources for Slavic Studies research

Literary Histories

Czech
Novak, Arne. Czech Literature. Ann Arbor: Michigan Slavic, 1976.
Bobst PG5001 .N6313


Polish
Milosz, Czeslaw. The History of Polish Literature. New York: Macmillan, 1969.
Bobst PG7012 .M48
Excellent history of Polish literature up to 1965.

 

Russian
Mirsky, D.S. A History of Russian Literature. NY: Vintage, 1949.
Bobst REF1 PG2951 .M53 1949
Still a standard history of Russian literature up to Chekhov.

 

Slonin, Marc, Soviet Russian Literature: Writers and Problems 1917-1977. New York: Oxford University Press, 1964.
Bobst PG3022 .S54
Excellent study of Soviet literature.

Literary Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Biobibliographies

The Modern Encyclopedia of East Slavic, Baltic, and Eurasian Literatures. Gulf Breeze, FL: Academic International Press, 1977-89. Vols. 1-3 have title: Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet literature
Bobst REF1 PG2940 .M63 1977

Dictionary of Russian Women Writers. Westport: Greenwood, 1994.
Bobst REF1 PG2997 .D53 1994

Reference guide to Russian literature /editor, Neil Cornwel, 1998
Bobst  REF1 PG2940 .R44 1998

Handbook of Russian Literature. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1985.
Bobst REF1 PG2940 .H29 1985
Articles on literary genres and movements as well as on Russian writers.

Harold Segel. The Columbia Guide to the Literatures of Eastern Europe since 1945. New York : Columbia University Press, c2003

E.J. Czerwinski. Dictionary of Polish Literature. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994.
Bobst REF1 PG7007 .D5 1994

 

In Russian
Russkie pisateli 1800-1917: biograficheskii slovar'. Moscow: "Sovetskaia entsiklopediia," 1989-
Bobst REF1 PG2991.3 .R87 1989
Includes many writers banned under the Soviet regime. Includes archival locations for writers' papers.

Kratkaia literaturnaia entsiklopediia. Moscow: Sovetskaia entsiklopediia, 1962-1978. 9 v.
Bobst REF1 PN41 .K7

Entsiklopedicheskii slovar' / pod red. I.E. Andreevskago. Peterburg: F. A. Brokgauz, I. A. Efron, 1890-1907.86 v. (reprint, 1990)
Bobst REF1 AE55.E6 1990
Excellent for 19th century subjects

Russkii biograficheskii slovar' / A.A. Polovtsov. Saint Petersburg: Izdanie Imperatorskago Russkago istoricheskago obshchestva, 1896-1918. 25 v.  (reprint, 1992-2000) 
Bobst Ref1 CT1203.R86 1896a
More complete biographies  up to the early 20th century than Entsiklopedicheskii slovar' above.

Slovar' psevdonimov russkikh pisateleĭ, uchenykh i obshchestvennykh deiateleĭ /I.F. Masonov. Moscow: Vses. knizhnaia palata, 1941-49 4 v.
Bobst Ref1 Z1073 .M33 1956