Skip to main content

Classical Studies: History

Covers print and electronic resources for Greek and Roman history, language, and literature.

Optional Content Box

Examples of things you may include in this type of box are: Tips, FAQs, Current Awareness (recently published articles, etc.)

History--for the time being

General

  • Encyclopedia of Ancient History.  This does all kinds of cool stuff.....
  • Boardman, John, Jasper Griffin, and Oswyn Murray, eds. The Oxford History of the Classical World. New York: Oxford University Press, 1986.
    Bobst REF1 DE59 .O94 1986
  • Boardman, John, Jasper Griffin, and Oswyn Murray, eds. The Oxford History of Greece and the Hellenistic World. New York : Oxford University Press, 1991.
    Bobst DF214 .O94 1991
  • Boardman, John, Jasper Griffin, and Oswyn Murray, eds. The Oxford History of the Roman World. New York: Oxford University Press, 1991.
    Bobst DG231 .O94 1991
  • Bunson, Matthew. Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire. New York: Facts on File, 2002.
    Bobst REF1 DG270 .B86 2002
  • Cambridge Ancient History. 1st-3rd eds. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1923-. 12 vols. Vol. 1, pt. 1-2, vol. 2, pt. 1-2, vol. 3, pt. 1-3, vol. 7, pt. 1-2. Plates to vols. 1-4, 7, pt.1.
    Bobst REF1 D57 .C17 and REF1 D57 .C252
    CAH is the most comprehensive survey of ancient history available. It covers the prehistoric Mediterranean era (Mesopotamia, Egypt, the Minoan and Mycenaean periods to 324 C.E. when Constantine the Great became sole ruler of the Roman empire). 
  • Speake, Graham. A Dictionary of Ancient History. Oxford, England: Blackwell, 1994.
    Bobst REF1 DE5 .D53 1994

"History of"

  • Calder, William M., III, and Daniel J. Kramer. An Introductory Bibliography to the History of Classical Scholarship Chiefly in the XIXth and XXth Centuries. Hildesheim, Germany: Georg Olms, 1992.
    Bobst REF1 Z7016 .C35 1992
  • Pfeiffer, Rudolf. History of Classical Scholarship from the Beginnings to the End of the Hellenistic Age. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1968.
    Bobst AZ301 .P4
  • Pfeiffer, Rudolf. History of Classical Scholarship from 1300 to 1850. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1976.
    Bobst AZ301 .P41x
  • Sandys, John Edwin. A History of Classical Scholarship. Cambridge, England: University Press, 1908-1921; repr., New York: Hafner, 1964. 3 vols.
    Bobst REF1 PA51 .S2
    The standard work on the history of classical scholarship covering the field from the sixth century B.C.E. to the end of the nineteenth century.

Biographical Sources

  • Bowder, Diana, ed. Who Was Who in the Greek World, 776 B.C.-30 B.C. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1982.
    Bobst REF1 DF208 .W48 1982b
  • Bowder, Diana, ed. Who Was Who in the Roman World: 753 B.C.-A.D. 476. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1984.
    Bobst REF1 DG203 .W46 1984
  • Briggs, Ward W., Jr., ed. Biographical Dictionary of North American Classicists. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994.
    Bobst REF1 PA83 .B53 1994
  • Briggs, Ward W., Jr., and William M. Calder III, eds. Classical Scholarship: A Biographical Encyclopedia. New York: Garland, 1990.
    Bobst REF1 PA83 .C58 1990
  • Grant, Michael. Greek and Latin Authors: 800 B.C.-A.D 1000. Bronx, NY: H.W. Wilson, 1980.
    Bobst REF1 PA31 .G7
  • Grant, Michael. The Roman Emperors: A Biographical Guide to the Rulers of Imperial Rome, 31 B.C.-A.D. 476. New York: Scribner's, 1985.
    Bobst REF1 DG274 .G73 1985b
  • Luce, T. James, ed. Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome. New York: Scribner's, 1982. 2 vols.
    Bobst REF1 PA3002 .A5 1982
  • Radice, Betty. Who's Who in the Ancient World : A Handbook to the Survivors of Greek and Roman Classics. Harmondsworth: Penguin, 1973.
    Bobst REF1 DE7 .R33 1973

Geographical Sources and Atlases

Geographical Sources

  • Cary, M. The Geographic Background of Greek & Roman History. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1949; (repr., Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1981).
    Bobst DE29 .C35
  • Grant, Michael. A Guide to the Ancient World: A Dictionary of Classical Place Names. Bronx, NY: H.W. Wilson, 1986.
    Bobst REF1 DE25 .G72 1986
  • Richardson, L., Jr. A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome. Baltimore, MD: John Hopkins University Press, 1992.
    Bobst REF1 DG68 .R5 1992
  • Talbert, Richard J.A., ed. Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2000.
    Bobst REF1 Atlas G1033 .B3 2000

Atlases

  • Bengtson, Hermann, and Vladimir Milojcic, eds. Grosser historischer Weltatlas. Teil 1. Vorgeschichte und Altertum. 5. überarbeitete und erweiterte Auflage. München: Bayerischer Schulbuch Verlag, 1976. 1st vol.
    Bobst REF1 G1030 .B38 1976
  • Grant, Michael. Atlas of Classical History. 5th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1994
    Bobst REF1 G1033 .G65 1994
  • Hammond, Nicholas G.L., ed. Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity. Park Ridge, NJ: Noyes Press, 1981.
    Bobst REF1 Atlas G1033 .A84 1981
  • Morkot, Robert. The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Greece. London; New York: Penguin, 1995.
    Bobst REF1 G1033 .M67 1995
  • Talbert, Richard J. A., ed. Atlas of Classical History. New York: Macmillan, 1985; repr., London: Routledge, 1988.
    Bobst REF1 G1033 .A833 1985
  • Talbert, Richard J.A., ed. Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2000.
    Bobst REF1 Atlas G1033 .B3 2000