Skip to main content

Classical Studies: Languages

Covers print and electronic resources for Greek and Roman history, language, and literature.

Latin Dictionaries

  • Blaise, Albert. Lexicon Latinitatis Medii Aevi: Praesertim Ad Res Ecclesiasticas Investigandas Pertines = Dictionanaire latin-français des auteurs du Moyen-Âge. Turnholti: Typographi brepols, 1975.
    Bobst REF1 PA2893 .F7 B52x
  • Du Cange, Charles Du Fresne. Glossarium Mediae et Infimae Latinatis. Graz, Austria: Akademische Druck, U. Verlagsanstalt, 1954.
    Bobst Ref1 PA2927 .D8 1954a
  • Glare, P. G. W., ed. Oxford Latin Dictionary. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 PA2365.E5 .O9 1996 Currently the standard Latin dictionary.
  • Niermeyer, Jan Frederick. Media Latinitatis Lexicon Minus: A Medieval Latin-French/English Dictionary. Leiden: Brill, 1976.
    Bobst REF1 PA2893.N4 1976
  • Thesaurus Linguae Latinae. Editus auctoritate et consilio Academiarum Quinque Germanicarum Berolinensis, Gottingensis, Lipsiensis, Monacensis, Vindobonensis. Leipzig, Germany: B.G. Teubner, 1900-. 10 vols. Indexes in 23 vols. Bobst REF1 PA2361 .T38 The TLL is the fullest source available for the study of Latin lexicography. Only volumes for A through O have appeared to date as well as supplementary volumes covering proper names. The tenth volume (letter P) is currently being worked on. The Thesaurus is intended to cover Latin in full from the beginnings to the Antonine age, with selective coverage to the seventh century C.E. An electronic version of the TLL is currently in the planning stages by "The Consortium for Latin Lexicography" at the University of California at Irvine, the same institution as the one responsible for the computerized version of the TLG.
  • Souter, Alexander. A Glossary of Later Latin to 600 A.D. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1949.
    Bobst REF1 PA2356 .S8

Greek Dictionaries

  • Lampe, G. W. H., ed. A Patristic Greek Lexicon. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1995
    Bobst REF1 PA681 .P3 1995
  • Liddell, Henry George, and Robert Scott. A Greek-English Lexicon. 10th ed. Revised by Henry Stuart Jones with Roderick McKenzie and others. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 PA445.E5 L6 1996
  • Louw, Johannes P., & Eugene A. Nida, eds. Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament Based on Semantic Domains. United Bible Societies, 1994.
    Bobst REF1 Standalone PA881 .G68 1994 CD-ROM
  • Sophocles, E.A. Greek Lexicon of the Roman and Byzantine Periods (from B.C. 146 to A.D. 1100). Memorial edition. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1914; repr., Hildesheim, Germany: Georg Olms, 1992.
    Bobst REF1 PA1125 .S7 1992
  • Thesaurus Linguae Graecae. Irvine, CA: Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Project, University of California, Irvine. Bobst Studio PA3405.T48 The TLG is a computerized concordance to ancient Greek literature. It contains virtually all extant Greek literary texts from Homer (eight century B.C.E.) to 600 C.E. as well as the texts of many historiographical, lexicographical, and scholastic writers. No documentary texts are included. For purchase information, please contact the distributor of the PHI and the TLG databases, Silver Mountain, at URL: http://www.silvermnt.com
  • Woodhouse, S.C. English-Greek Dictionary: A Vocabulary of the Attic Language. 2d ed. London: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1987.
    Bobst REF1 PA445 .E5 W6 1987

Literature

  • Berkowitz, Luci, and Karl A. Squitier. Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Canon of Greek Authors and Works. 3d ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1990.
    Bobst REF1 Z7021 .B47 1990
    This work lists the source editions for each Greek author and work included in the TLG database. The Canon covers more than 3,000 Greek authors and more than 9,000 individual works. In most cases, what is considered the best available critical edition is cited.
  • Briggs, Ward W. Ancient Greek Authors. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1997 (Series: Dictionary of Literary Biography).
    Bobst REF1 PA3064 .A63 1997
  • Cambridge History of Classical Literature. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1982, 1985.
    Greek Literature Bobst REF1 PA3052 .G73 1985
    Latin Literature Bobst REF1 PA6003 .L3 1982
  • Conte, Gian Biagio. Latin Literature: A History. Translated by Joseph B. Solodow. Revised by Don Fowler and Glenn W. Most. Baltimore, MD: John Hopkins University Press, 1994.
    Bobst REF1 PA6008 .C6613 1994
  • Dihle, Albrecht. Greek and Latin Literature of the Roman Empire: From Augustus to Justinian. Translated by Manfred Malzahn. London; New York: Routledge, 1994.
    Bobst PA3057 .D513 1994
  • Dihle, Albrecht. A History of Greek Literature: From Homer to the Hellenistic Period. Translated by Clare Krojzl. London; New York: Routledge, 1994.
    Bobst REF1 PA3057 .D513 1994
  • Forman, Robert. Classical Greek and Roman Drama: An Annotated Bibliography. Pasadena, CA; Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1989 (Magill Bibliographies).
    Bobst REF1 Z7018 .D7 F67 1989
  • Howatson, M.C. The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1990.
    Bobst REF1 PA31 .H69 1990
    Entries cover persons (authors and historical figures), literary and mythological characters and individual literary works.
  • Packard Humanities Institute. PHI CD-ROM #5.3 and #7.
    Bobst Studio PA6105 .P55 1991 and CN360 .P552 1996
    The PHI CD-ROM #5.3 includes the full text of more than 350 Roman authors; virtually all Latin literature through the end of the second century C.E. is covered. The PHI CD-ROM #7 is a database of Greek and Latin inscriptions and papyri. A selection of Coptic texts is also provided. For purchase information, please contact the distributor of the PHI and the TLG databases, Silver Mountain, at URL: http://www.silvermnt.com.
  • Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG). Irvine, CA: Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Project, University of California, Irvine.
    Bobst Studio PA3405 .T48 1992
    The TLG is a computerized concordance to ancient Greek literature. It virtually all extant Greek literary texts from Homer (eight century B.C.E.) to 600 C.E. as well as the texts of many historiographical, lexicographical, and scholastic writers. No documentary texts are included. For purchase information, please contact the distributor of the PHI and the TLG databases, Silver Mountain, at URL: http://www.silvermnt.com.
  • Vergil Reference CD-ROM: Electronic Reference for Vergil Studies and Humanities Research.
    Bobst Studio PA6825 .V465 1997
    A concordance including primary and secondary sources for the study of Vergil.