Skip to main content

Classical Studies: Civilization

Covers print and electronic resources for Greek and Roman history, language, and literature.

Art

  • Boardman, John, ed. The Oxford History of Classical Art. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993.
    Bobst REF1 N5610 .O84 1993
  • Cristofani, Mauro, ed. Dizionario della civiltà etrusca. Firenze: Giunti Martello, 1985.
    Bobst REF1 DG223.3 .D59 1985
  • Pedley, John Griffiths. Greek Art and Archaeology. New York : Harry N. Abrams, 1993.
    Bobst DF130 .P44 1992 Covers art and architecture from the Bronze Age through the Hellenistic period.
  • Richter, Gisela M.A. A Handbook of Greek Art. 9th ed. New York : Da Capo, 1987.
    Bobst N5630 .R49 1987 Richter covers all aspects of Greek art from 1100 B.C.E. to 100 C.E.

Encyclopedias

  • Cotterell, Arthur, ed. The Penguin Encyclopedia of Classical Civilizations. New York: Viking, 1993.
    Bobst REF1 CB9 .P46 1993
  • Hornblower, Simon, and Antony Spawforth, eds. Oxford Classical Dictionary. 3rd. ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 DE5 .O9 1996 The OCD is the standard general English-language reference work on the classical world.

Historical Studies

Archaeology

  • Sherrat, Andrew, ed. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology. New York: Crown Publishers/Cambridge University Press, 1980.
    Bobst REF1 CC165.C3 1980
  • Thomson, Nancy de Grummond. An Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996. 2 vols.
    Bobst REF1 DE5 .E5 1996

Epigraphy

  • Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum. Editio altera. Berolini: G. Reimerum, 1893-1955.
    Bobst Microform MF588 Non-Circulating
    Finding Aid
  • Gordon, Arthur E. Illustrated Introduction to Latin Epigraphy. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 1983.
    Bobst CN510 .G63 1983
  • Keppie, Lawrence. Understanding Roman Inscriptions. Baltimore, MD: John Hopkins University Press, 1991.
    Bobst CN510 .K46 1991
  • Woodhead, A. Geoffrey. The Study of Greek Inscriptions. 2d ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1981; (repr., Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1992).
    Bobst CN350 .W65 1981
    This is the standard introduction to the field for readers in English. Provides a guide to the major corpora of published Greek inscriptions.

Palaeography

  • Bischoff, Bernhard. Latin Palaeography: Antiquity and the Middle Ages. Translated by Dáibhí O Cróinin and David Ganz. Cambridge, England: Cambridge University Press, 1990.
    Bobst Z114 .B5713 1990
    The most current work on Latin palaeography.
  • Thompson, Edward Maunde. A Handbook of Greek and Latin Palaeography. 3rd. Ed. London: K. Paul, Trench, Trubner, 1906; repr., Chicago: Ares, 1980.
    Bobst REF1 Z114 .T473 1980
  • Thompson, Edward Maunde. An Introduction to Greek and Latin Palaeography. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1912 (repr., New York: Burt Franklin, 1973).
    Bobst Z114 .T472
    Still the standard manual in English on Greek palaeography.

Mythology

  • The Chiron Dictionary of Greek and Roman Mythology. Translated by Elizabeth Burr. Wilmette, IL: Chiron, 1994.
    Bobst REF1 BL715 .H4713 1994
  • Grant, Michael, and John Hazel. Who's Who in Classical Mythology. London: Weidenfeld and Nicholson, 1973.
    Bobst REF1 BL715 .G68 1993
  • Grimal, Pierre. Dictionnaire de la mythologie grecque et romaine. The Dictionary of Classical Mythology. Translated by A. R. Maxwell-Hyslop. Oxford; New York: Blackwell, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 BL715 .G713 1996
  • Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC). Zürich: Artemis, 1981-. 7 vols.; 14 parts.
    Bobst REF1 N7760 .L49 1981
    This multivolume set "is designed to give account of the present state of knowledge about the iconography of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman mythology from after the Mycenaean period to the beginning of the early Christian." Each volume is issued in two parts, one of text, the other of plates. It is the most comprehensive source of information about the depiction of classical myths in ancient art.
  • Mayerson, Philip. Classical Mythology in Literature, Art, and Music. Glenview, IL; Dallas, TX, et al.: Scott, Foresman and Company, 1971; reprint 1984.
    Bobst REF1 NX650.M9 M38 1984
  • Reid, Jane Davidson. The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990's. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993. 2 vols.
    Bobst REF1 NX650.M9 R45 1993
  • Rochelle, Mercedes. Mythological and Classical World Art Index: A Locator of Paintings, Sculptures, Frescoes, Manuscript Illuminations, Sketches, Woodcuts, and Engravings Executed 1200 B.C. to A.D. 1900 with a Directory of the Institutions Holding Them. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1991.
    Bobst N7760 .R63 1991

Philosophy

  • Bell, Albert A., Jr., and James B. Allis. Resources in Ancient Philosophy: An Annotated Bibliography of Scholarship in English, 1965-1989. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1991.
    Bobst REF1 Z7125 .B39 1991
  • Goulet, Richard, ed. Dictionnaire des philosophes antiques. Paris: CNRS, 1989-.
    Bobst REF1 B112 .D52 1989
  • Guthrie, W.K.C. A History of Greek Philosophy. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1962-1981. 6 vols.
    Bobst B171 .G92
    Still the standard work in English on Greek philosophy from the Pre-Socratics to Aristotle.
  • Zeyl, Donald J. ed. Daniel T. Devereux and Phillip T. Mitsis, assoc. eds. Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.
    Bobst REF1 B163 .E53 1997

Women in Antiquity

  • Clark, Gillian. Women in the Ancient World. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1989.
    Bobst HQ1127 .C53 1989
  • Kraemer, Ross S. Maenads, Martyrs, Matrons, Monastics: A Sourcebook on Women's Religions in the Graeco-Roman World. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1988.
    Bobst REF1 BL625.7 .M34 1988
  • Lefkowitz, Mary R., and Maureen B. Fant. Women's Life in Greece & Rome: A Source Book in Translation. 3d ed. Baltimore, MD: John Hopkins University Press, 2005.
    Bobst HQ1127 .W653 2005
  • Salisbury, Joyce E. Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001. Bobst REF1 HQ1127 .S25 2001