Skip to main content

Classical Studies: Bibliographies

Covers print and electronic resources for Greek and Roman history, language, and literature.

Bibliographies and Research Guides

  • Durusau, Patrick. High Places in Cyberspace. Atlanta: Scholars Press, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 Z6207.G7 D87 1996
    Computer network resources on ancient civilizations.
  • Engelmann, Wilhelm, ed. Bibliotheca Scriptorum Classicorum. 8th ed. Comprising works from 1700 to 1878. New ed. by E. Preuss. Leipzig, Germany: Verlag von Wilhelm Engelmann, 1880-1882; reprint, Hildesheim, Germany: Georg Olms, 1992. 2 vols.
    Bobst REF1 Z7016 .E58 1992
    A predecessor to L'Année philologique covering works from 1700-1878. This continues the works of Fabricius and Schweiger.
  • Fabricius, Johann Albert. Ioannis Alberti Fabricii...Bibliotheca Graeca, sive, Notitia Scriptorum Veterum Graecorum Quorumque Monumenta Integra aut Fragmenta Edita Exstant tum Plerorumque e Mss. ac Deperditis ab Auctore Tertium Recognita et plurimis Locis Aucta. Editio Quarta variorum curis emendatior atque auctior curante Gottlieb Christophoro Harles; accedunt b. I. A. Fabricii et Christoph. Augusti Heumanni supplementa inedita. Hamburgi: Apud Carolum Ernestum Bohn, 1790-1809; reprint, Hildesheim, Germany: Georg Olms, 1966-1970. 12 vols.
    Bobst REF1 Z7021 .F12 1966
    A predecessor to L'Année philologique including some of the material covered by Englemann, but also works from the beginning of printing through the 1700s.
  • Fabricius, Johann Albert. Jo. Alberti Fabricii Bibliotheca Latina, sive, Notitia Auctorum Veterum Latinorum, Quorumque Scripta ad Nos Pervenerunt, Distributa in Libros IV. Supplementis, Quae Antea Sejunctim Excusa Maximo Lectorum Incommodo Legebantur, Suis Quibusque Locis nunc Primum Insertis. Venetiis: Apud Sebastianum Coleti, 1728. 2 vols.
    Bobst SpecColRef Z7026 .F33 t. 1-2
  • Gullath, Brigitte, and Heidtmann, Frank. Wie finde ich altertumswissenschaftliche Literatur: Klassische Philologie, Mittel- und Neulatein, Byzantistik, Alte Geschichte und Klassische Archäologie. Berlin: Arno Spitz, 1992.
    Bobst REF1 Z7016 .G844 1992
    This guide covers not only classical studies but also medieval Latin, Neo-Latin, and Byzantine studies.
  • Jenkins, Fred W. Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 Z7016 .J4 1996
    A bibliographic guide to all aspects of Classical Studies with critical annotations.
  • Klussmann, Rudolf, ed. Bibliotheca Scriptorum Classicorum et Graecorum et Latinorum: Die Literatur von 1878 bis 1896 einschliesslich umfassend. Leipzig: O.R. Reisland, 1909-1913; 2 vols. in 4.
    Bobst REF1 Z7016 .E59
    A predecessor to L'Année philologique covering works from 1878-1896.
  • Lambrino, Scarlat, ed. Bibliographie de l'antiquité classique, 1896-1914. Paris: Société d'Édition "Les Belles Letters," 1951.
    Bobst REF1 Z7016 .L3
    A predecessor to L'Année philologique covering works from 1896-1914.
  • Mantello, F. A. C., and A. G. Rigg, eds. Medieval Latin: An Introduction and Bibliographic Guide. Washington, D.C.: Catholic University of America Press, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 PA2802 .M43 1996
  • Marouzeau, J. Dix années de bibliographie classique: bibliographie critique et analytique de l'antiquité greco-latine pour la period 1914-1924. Paris: Société d'Édition "Les Belles Lettres," 1927-1928. 2 vols. Washington, D.C.: Catholic University of America Press, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 Z7016 .M35
    A predecessor to L'Année philologique covering works from 1914-1924 (the year L'Année was first published).
  • Schweiger, F. L. A. Handbuch der classischen Bibliographie. Leipzig: Friedrich Fleischer, 1830-1834. 2 vols. in 3.
    Bobst REF1 Z7016 .S41
    A predecessor to L'Année philologique covering works from the beginning of printing to about 1820. Overlaps with both Fabricius and Englemann and fills in gaps between the two.

Annual Bibliographies & Current Periodical Indexes