Skip to main content

French Language and Literature: Intro to French Language Literature

Library resources for information about French language and literature.

Intro to French Language Literature

Cambridge Collections Online
Provides full access to: The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics; The Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture; The Cambridge Companions to Music; and Shakespeare Survey. Includes: Cambridge Companion to the French Novel (1997); Cambridge Companion to Medieval French Literature (2008); Cambridge Companion to the African Novel (2009); Cambridge Companion to Modern French Culture (2003); and Cambridge Companion to European Modernism (2011).

The Cambridge History of French Literature. Burgwinkle, William, Nicholas Hammond, and Emma Wilson, eds. New York: Cambridge UP, 2011.
accessible in: Cambridge Histories Online: Literary Studies
Covers French and Francophone literature from the early Middle Ages to the present day.Includes over 75 new essays by specialists in their fields.

• For printed books: the browsing location in Bobst is: PQ1 to PQ3999, 1st floor reference and 8th floor stacks.

Note: in this call number range you will also find guides to French-language literature based on geographical region, such as Belgium, North Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, Switzerland, etc.

Guide to French Literature. Levi, Anthony. Chicago: St. James Press, 1992.
Bobst REF1 PQ41.L48 1992
Arrangement is alphabetical by author or literary movement. Long articles focus on the canonical writers of French literary history; little coverage of Francophone writers, although a few of the more prominent figures from the Negritude movement are included.

Dictionnaire des Oeuvres Littéraires de Langue Française. Beaumarchais & Couty, ed. Paris: Bordas, 1994.
Bobst REF1 PQ41.B439 1994
This is a dictionary of works, rather than authors, so arrangement is alphabetical by title of work. Long signed essays focus mostly on French national writers but includes some other European French-language writers as well.

Francophone Literatures: An Introductory Survey. Jack, Belinda. New York: Oxford, 1996.
Bobst REF1 PQ3809.J33 1996
Arranged by geographical region, and then by country. Essays place literary history into its historical/colonial context. Each section includes a guide for further reading.