Research Guides: Italian Studies: Find Articles

Core Databases

Note that in these databases not all references will necessarily include links to full-text versions of the articles you are looking for or links to publications in the NYU collection. In such cases, you will need to make note of the complete bibliographic citation.

For journal articles: author, article title, journal title, volume and/or issue number, and pages.
For book chapters: author, article or chapter title, book title, and pages.

Then you will need to search for the journal title or book title in the library catalog to determine if it is held by an NYU library or use that bibliographic citation to request the publication through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Note also that some of these databases will include references (and possibly links) to complete books in addition to articles.

Literature, Culture, Humanities, Politics (General)

MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides bibliographic records for books, book chapters, journal articles, and dissertations published in the fields of modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Full text is available for some articles. The MLAIB covers items published from around 1920 to the present.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window
This database indexes about 1,700 arts and humanities journals. Dates of coverage: 1975 to present.
Adjust settings to expand your searching to include the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Science Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, and others.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
The Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective provides citations from periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews. Dates of coverage: 1907-1984.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source includes full text access to journals. It combines various Humanities related databases, including the American Humanities Index.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages. Publication dates of coverage: 1955 to present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies presents constantly updated articles that contain citations (with annotations) and commentaries for sources across the disciplines. Users can search topics and gather relevant journal article and book citations, online resources, data sources, and more.

Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory
This journal published by Oxford University Press (and which is indexed in the MLAIB and the A&HI, listed above) reviews current research in the humanities and social sciences, reflecting the shifting fields of critical and cultural studies. Articles include complete bibliographies of the monographs and essays under review.

Italian Bibliographies and Databases

BiGLI Online This link opens in a new window
The Bibliografia Generale della Lingua e della Letteratura Italiana (BiGLI) is an annual index of scholarly monographs, journals, book chapters, and reviews in the field of Italian languages and literatures. Entries provide brief abstracts; publications described in reviews are also indexed, though not necessarily abstracted. Includes the entire contents of the print version of BiGLI (1993-2015), with coverage going back to 1991 and limited coverage to 1981 for titles described in reviews.
Torrossa: Casalini Full Text Platform This link opens in a new window
Torrossa provides full-text access to research in the humanities, fine arts, social sciences, pure sciences, applied sciences, and law from a substantial list of major Italian publishers. Coverage includes monographs (eBooks), periodicals and conference proceedings. Some publications are in languages other than Italian. The extensive collection can be browsed by discipline (Dewey Decimal or Library of Congress Classification).

Italinemo
Index of secondary literature from 2000 from a fairly comprehensive list of periodicals published in Italy and includes abstracts.

Medieval & Renaissance Studies

Medieval Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
The essential resource for finding articles in the field of Medieval Studies. Includes the International Medieval Bibliography and the Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
Book History Online This link opens in a new window
Book History Online (BHO) is a comprehensive international bibliography covering scholarly monographs, articles, and reviews in the fields of book and library history, focusing on the production and distribution of printed books in their economic and socio-cultural contexts, as well as their preservation and description.

eJournal Collections

BrepolisOnline This link opens in a new window
Brepols Online is the platform for all online content published by Brepols, including scholarly journal articles in the humanities, many of which are otherwise rare or hard-to-locate, from the early twentieth century onwards. To search among journals only, click on the Journals tab.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

Italian Studies

Search the NYU Libraries Catalog

Need Help?

Core Databases

Literature, Culture, Humanities, Politics (General)

Italian Bibliographies and Databases

Medieval & Renaissance Studies

eJournal Collections