Research Guides: Featured Science and Engineering Sources: Indexes/Abstracts

Index and Abstracts Databases

Indexes and Abstracts generally do not provide full text, but offer useful citation searching features.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n (formerly "SciFinder Scholar") contains substance and reaction data that is searchable by structure, formula, and chemical identifier, and also bibliographic information about journal articles, patents, and conference proceedings.
Patrons must create a personal account, using their NYU email address, here in order to use this resource.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary index of peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection is a multidisciplinary citation index that includes scholarly articles, conference proceedings, and books in the biomedical, psychosocial, and arts and humanities. The collections contain Science Citation, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index , Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index and Current Chemical Reactions index.
Engineering Village (Formerly Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is a specialized discovery platform where researchers can effectively search multiple engineering databases all in one place.

Google Scholar
Searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.

Medline via PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

PubMed Central (PMC)
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts indexes life sciences journals, providing abstracts for publications in botany, microbiology, pharmacology, biochemistry, evolutionary ecology, neurology, toxicology, and more. Database coverage is 1926 to present.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Citation Index provides access to BIOSIS content using citation-based searching and discovery. This database allows the user to search content from journals, meetings, books, and patents in the life sciences and biomedicine, with backfiles available to 1926.