Skip to main content

Research Institute for the Study of Man (RISM): RISM: The Dominican Republic

The Collections of RISM at New York University

A Note on Finding RISM Materials in Bobst Library

This page provides a list of RISM books and serials on the Dominican Republic held in the Bobst Library circulating collections. It is provided to give the researcher an impression of the range of materials offered in the RISM collections at NYU Libraries. To find a particular item held in the Bobst collections, however, a researcher is best to search the Libraries' online catalog, BobCat. If you are looking for materials related to a particular country, searching BobCat by subject is the most effective way to identify all relevant materials held by the NYU Libraries, both those drawn from the RISM collections and those previously owned by the Libraries or purchased subsequent to the arrival of the RISM collections.

RISM Materials on the Dominican Republic

El Alcoholismo En Santo Domingo. Ed. Frank Marino Hernández, Instituto Dominicano de Estudios Aplicados, and Dominican Republic. División de Psiquiatría e Higiene Mental. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Taller, 1975.

Alexander Wetmore 1886-1978. The Birds of Haiti and the Dominican Republic. Ed. Bradshaw H. (Bradshaw Hall) Swales and United States National Museum. Washington, D.C.: Washington, D.C. : Government Printing Office, 1931.

André Corten. Cambio Social En Santo Domingo. Ed. Andrée Corten. Río Piedras, P.R.: Río Piedras, P.R. : Instituto de Estudios del Caribe, Universidad de Puerto Rico, 1968.

Arístides Incháustegui 1938-. Apuntes Para La Historia Del Himno Nacional Dominicano. Ed. José Reyes and Emilio Prud'homme. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Museo Nacional de Historia y Geografía : Asociación Jaycees Dominicana, 1982.

Armando Bayo. República Dominicana. La Habana: La Habana : Casa de las Américas, 1968.

Armando Oscar. La Obra Educativa De Trujillo. Ciudad Trujillo: Ciudad Trujillo : Impresora Dominicana, 1955.

Black Separatism and the Caribbean 1860. Ed. Howard Holman Bell, James Theodore Holly, and J. Dennis Harris. Ann Arbor: Ann Arbor : University of Michigan Press, 1970.

Bruce J. Calder 1940-. El Impacto De La Intervención : La República Dominicana Durante La Ocupación Norteamericana De 1916-1924. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Fundación Cultural Dominicana, 1989.

Caribbean Asians : Chinese, Indian, and Japanese Experiences in Trinidad and the Dominican Republic. Ed. Roger Sanjek and Asian/American Center (Queens College (New York,N.Y.)). Flushing, N.Y.: Flushing, N.Y. : Asian/American Center at Queens College, CUNY, 1990.

Caribbean Circuits : New Directions in the Study of Caribbean Migration. Ed. Patricia R. Pessar. New York: New York : Center for Migration Studies, 1997.

The Caribbean in Crisis : Cuba, Haiti, Dominican Republic : Report of the IV Institute, Caribbean Institute and Study Center for Latin America, October 18-23, 1965. Ed. Inter American University of Puerto Rico. Caribbean Institute and Study Center for Latin America : San Germán,P.R.). San Germán, P.R.: San Germán, P.R. : Caribbean Institute and Study Center for Latin America, 1965.

Carlos Ascuasiati. Diez Años De Economía Dominicana. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Ediciones de Taller, 1986.

Carlos Esteban Deive 1935-. Vodú y Magia En Santo Domingo. Ed. Fundación Cultural Dominicana. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Fundación Cultural Dominicana, 1988.

---. Vodú y Magia En Santo Domingo. Ed. Fundación Cultural Dominicana. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Fundación Cultural Dominicana, 1988.

Carlos Larrazábal Blanco. Familias Dominicanas. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo, Academia Dominicana de la Historia, 1980.

César A. Herrera. Divulgaciones Históricas. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Taller, 1989.

César, Mella Mej. Notas De Psiquiatría Popular. Ed. Antonio Zaglul. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Taller, 1989.

Cipriano, de Utrera, fray, 1886-1958. Noticias Históricas De Santo Domingo. Ed. Emilio Rodríguez Demorizi. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Editora Taller, 1978.

Código Penal De La República Dominicana. Santo Domingo, R.D.: Santo Domingo, R.D. : Editorial Tiempo, 1987.

Daisy Cocco-DeFilippis 1949-. Documents of Dissidence : Selected Writings of Dominican Women. Ed. Studies Institute CUNY Dominican. New York: New York : CUNY Dominican Studies Institute, 2000.

"Dateline: Dominican Republic." (1979).

Deborah S. Hitt. A Selected Bibliography of the Dominican Republic: A Century After the Restoration of Independence,. Ed. Larman C. (Larman Curtis) Wilson and American University (Washington,D.C.).Center for Research in Social Systems. Washington: Washington, American University, Center for Research in Social Systems, 1968.

Denise Paiewonsky. El Aborto En La República Dominicana. Santo Domingo, D.N.: Santo Domingo, D.N. : CIPAF, 1988.

Dominican Republic Oficina Nacional de Estadística División Censo Agropecuario, Industria,y Comercio. Quinto Censo Nacional Agropecuario, 1960. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Oficina Nacional de Estadística, 1966.

Dominican Republic Secretaría de Educación, Bellas Artes,y Cultos. Estadística Escolar : Año Escolar 1966/67. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Sección Técnica de Estadísticas, 1967.

Dominican Republic. Agricultural Commodities : Agreement between the United States of America and the Dominican Republic Signed at Santo Domingo may 21, 1982 with Memorandum of Understanding. Ed. United States. Dept. of State. Washington, D.C.: Washington, D.C. : Dept. of State : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O, 1985.

---. Agricultural Commodities : Agreement between the United States of America and the Dominican Republic Signed at Santo Domingo may 21, 1982 with Memorandum of Understanding. Ed. United States. Dept. of State. Washington, D.C.: Washington, D.C. : Dept. of State : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O, 1985.

---. Agricultural Commodities : Agreement between the United States of America and the Dominican Republic, Signed at Santo Domingo January 3, 1980, with Memorandum of Understanding. Ed. United States. Dept. of State. Washington, D.C.?: Washington, D.C.? : Dept. of State : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O, 1980.

Douglass G. Norvell. Values and Aspirations of some Dominican Out-Farmers : A Pilot Study. Ed. Bardin H. Nelson. College Station: College Station : Dept. of Agricultural Economics and Sociology, Texas A & M University /, 1966.

Eduardo Latorre 1941-. Política Dominicana Contemporánea. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Ediciones Intec, 1975.

Edward S. Herman. Demonstration Elections : U.S.-Staged Elections in the Dominican Republic, Vietnam and El Salvador. Ed. Frank Brodhead. Boston: Boston : South End, 1984.

"Eme Eme; Estudios Dominicanos." (1972).

Emilio Rodríguez Demorizi 1908-1986. Del Vocabulario Dominicano. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Editora Taller, 1983.

Ensayos Sobre Cultura Dominicana. Ed. Bernardo Vega and Museo del Hombre Dominicano. Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic: Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic : Fundación Cultural Dominicana : Museo del Hombre Dominicano, 1996.

"Estadística Dominicana. Sección 343, Finanzas Públicas." (1980).

"Estadística Industrial De La República Dominicana." (1977).

Flérida de Nolasco. Santo Domingo En El Folklore Universal. Ciudad Trujillo: Ciudad Trujillo : Impresora Dominicana, 1956.

Fondo para el Avance de las,Ciencias Sociales. Inventario De Investigaciones En Marcha En La República Dominicana. Ed. E. Antonio de Moya and José Alcántara Almánzar. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : El Fondo, 1976.

Francisco de Moya. La Mortalidad En La República Dominicana Según Características Sociales y Geográficas. Ed. Marina Taveras, Sonia Díaz, and Consejo Nacional de Población y Familia (Dominican Republic). Departamento de Investigación y Evaluación. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : CONAPOFA, 1982.

Francisco, Richiez Acevedo. Cocolandia : Cosmopolitismo e Hibridismo, Consideraciones Sobre El Cambio Social Que Se Opera En La Ciudad De San Pedro De Macorís. Thesis--Universidad Autónoma de Santo Domingo, 1967 Santo Domingo.

Garrido Puello, E. O. El Sur En La Historia, Las Ciencias y La Literatura. Santo Domingo, R.D.: Santo Domingo, R.D. : Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña, 1981.

Glenn L. Hendricks 1928-. The Dominican Diaspora : From the Dominican Republic to New York City : Villagers in Transition. New York: New York : Teachers College Press, Columbia University, 1974.

---. Los Dominicanos Ausentes : Un Pueblo En Transición. Ed. Eduardo Villanueva. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Alfa y Omega, 1978.

Gustav Adolph Sallas. Labor Law and Practice in the Dominican Republic. Washington: Washington, U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics; for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off, 1968.

Gwendolyn Midlo Hall. Social Control in Slave Plantation Societies : A Comparison of St. Domingue and Cuba. Baton Rouge: Baton Rouge : Louisiana State University Press, 1996.

Harold Molineu. The Concept of the Caribbean in the Latin American Policy of the United States. Thesis (Ph.D.)--American University, 1967.

Héctor Incháustegui Cabral 1912-. Escritores y Artistas Dominicanos. Santiago, República Dominicana: Santiago, República Dominicana : UCMM, 1978.

Henry J. Frundt. Gulf & Western in the Dominican Republic : An Evaluation. Ed. Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility. New York: New York : Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility, 1979.

Howard J. Wiarda 1939-. Dictatorship and Development; the Methods of Control in Trujillo's Dominican Republic. Gainesville: Gainesville, University of Florida Press, 1968.

---. The Dominican Republic, a Caribbean Crucible. Ed. Michael J. Kryzanek. Boulder, Colo.: Boulder, Colo. : Westview Press, 1982.

Hugo, Tolentino Dipp. Raza e Historia En Santo Domingo : Los Orígenes Del Prejuicio Racial En América. Ed. Fundación Cultural Dominicana. Santo Domingo, Republica Dominicana: Santo Domingo, Republica Dominicana : Fundación Cultural Dominincana, 1992.

Incháustegui (Joaquín Marino), J. Geografía Descriptiva De La República Dominicana. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Librería Dominicana, 1962.

---. Geografía Descriptiva De La República Dominicana. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Librería Dominicana, 1962.

Instituto Dominicano de, Estudios Aplicados. La Drogadicción En Santo Domingo. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Instituto Dominicano de Estudios Aplicados, 1977.

Instituto Tecnológico de, Santo Domingo. Documentos - INTEC 1. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : INTEC, 1976.

Inter-American Economic and, Social Council. Foreign Trade of the Dominican Republic, 1945-1955. Washington, D.C.: Washington, D.C. : Office of Statistics, Pan American Union, 1957.

Jack Tucker 1954-. Hippocrene Insiders' Guide to Dominican Republic. Ed. Ursula Eberhard. New York: New York : Hippocrene Books, 1993.

Jan Knippers Black 1940-. The Dominican Republic : Politics and Development in an Unsovereign State. Boston: Boston : Allen & Unwin, 1986.

John Edwin Fagg. Cuba, Haiti, & the Dominican Republic. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Englewood Cliffs, N.J., Prentice-Hall, 1965.

José Alcántara Almánzar 1946-. Viaje Al Otro Mundo. Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic: Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic : Taller, 1973.

José Antonio Moreno 1928-. Barrios in Arms : Revolution in Santo Domingo. Pittsburgh: Pittsburgh : University of Pittsburgh Press, 1970.

---. Sociological Aspects of the Dominican Revolution. Thesis (Ph. D.)--Cornell University, 1967, 1967.

José Castillo 1912-. Ensayos De Sociología Dominicana. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Ediciones Siboney, 1981.

José L. Sáez. Historia De Un Sueño Importado : Ensayos Sobre El Cine En Santo Domingo. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Ediciones Siboney, 1982.

José Miguel Guzmán. Evaluation of the Dominican Republic National Fertility Survey 1975. The Hague, Netherlands : London: The Hague, Netherlands : International Statistical Institute ; London : World Fertility Survey, 1980.

José Ramón Estella. Historia Gráfica De La Republica Dominicana. Ed. José Alloza Villagrasa. Santo Domingo, D.N.: Santo Domingo, D.N. : Taller, 1986.

Juan Daniel Balcácer 1949-. Aclaraciones Históricas De Santo Domingo. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Editora Cosmos, 1977.

Juan Ventura. Presidentes De La República Dominicana (1844-1996). Puerto Plata, R.D.: Puerto Plata, R.D. : Fundación Brugal, 1996.

Kai P. Schoenhals. Dominican Republic. Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif.: Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : Clio Press, 1990.

Latin America, Dominican Republic : Selected Statistical Data by Sex. Ed. United States. Agency for International Development. Office of Development Information and Utilization. Washington, D.C.: Washington, D.C. : Office of Development Information and Utilization, U.S. Agency for International Development, 1981.

Latin American Conference (22nd : 1972 : University,of Florida. Public Policy and Urbanization in the Dominican Republic and Costa Rica : Proceedings of the 22nd Annual Latin American Conference. Ed. Gustavo A. Antonini and University of Florida. Center for Latin American Studies. Gainesville: Gainesville : Center for Latin American Studies, University of Florida, 1972.

Lettres De Colons. Ed. Gabriel Debien. Laval: Laval : Madiot, 1965.

Manuel Rufino Martínez. Del Puerto Plata De Ayer. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Editora del Caribe, 1963.

María Rosario, Sevilla Soler. Santo Domingo Tierra De Frontera, 1750-1800. Sevilla: Sevilla : Escuela de Estudios Hispano-Americanos, 1980.

Max Henríquez Ureña 1885-. La Independencia Efímera. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Librería Dominicana, 1962.

Max Uribe 1900-1996. Notas y Apuntes Lexicográficos : Americanismos y Dominicanismos. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Editora de Colores : Universidad Central del Este, 1996.

Merengue [Sound Recording] : Dominican Music and Dominican Identity. Cond. Paul Austerlitz. Cambridge, Mass. : Rounder Records, 1997.

"Mundo Diplomático." (1958).

Newton Carlos. Santo Domingo : La Guerra De América Latina. Buenos Aires: Buenos Aires : Ediciones Iguazú, 1965.

Patrick E. Bryan. Railroads and the Export Economy of the Dominican Republic, 1900-1916., 1981.

Pauline H. Dubé. Aprender Haciendo. Ed. Steffi L. Becht, et al. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : EDUCA, 1996.

Pedro Gonzalez-Blanco. La Era De Trujillo. Ciudad Trujillo: Ciudad Trujillo : Editora del Caribe, 1955.

Porfirio, E. Agramonte Mazara. Nuestra Lucha no. 1, Organización Del M.U.N.D.O. : La Revolución Contra Los Politiqueros. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Editora Montalvo, 1965.

Los Problemas De La Inflación En La República Dominicana. Ed. Frank Moya Pons and (Debating society) FORUM. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : FORUM, 1986.

Ramón Morrison. Historia De La Educación En La República Dominicana : Desde Sus Más Remotos Orígenes Hasta 1900. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : CENAPEC, 1993.

Ricardo E. Espinal (Ricardo Enrique), 1942-. Teología y Revolución : Cartas Entre Estudiantes En Materia De Religión y Pasajes Históricos De La Lucha Constitucionalista. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Editorial Arte y Cine, 1967.

Richard S. Hillman 1943-. Distant Neighbors in the Caribbean : The Dominican Republic and Jamaica in Comparative Perspective. Ed. Thomas J. D'Agostino. New York: New York : Praeger, 1992.

Rob Ruck 1950-. The Tropic of Baseball : Baseball in the Dominican Republic. Westport, Conn.: Westport, Conn. : Meckler, 1991.

Robert W. Mashek. The Inter-American Foundation in the Dominican Republic : A Decade of Support for Local Development Organizations = La Fundación Interamericana En La República Dominicana : Una Decada De Apoyo a Las Organizaciones De Desarrollo Locales. Ed. Stephen G. Vetter. Rosslyn, Va.: Rosslyn, Va. : The Foundation, 1983.

Roberto Marte 1947-. Cuba y La República Dominicana : Transición Económica En El Caribe Del Siglo XIX. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Universidad APEC, 1988.

Rufino Martínez. Gregorio Luperón. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : CETEC, 1982.

"Sacrificio De Ganado (Dominican Republic. Oficina Nacional De Estadística); Sacrificio De Ganado." .

Santiago de la, Fuente Garc. Geografia Dominicana. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : s.n. : distribuidor, Editorial Colegial Quisqueyana, 1976, 1976.

Selden Rodman 1909-2002. Quisqueya : A History of the Dominican Republic. Seattle, Wash.: Seattle, Wash. : University of Washington Press, 1964.

Seminario Ejecutivo de Diseño de Proyectos de Colaboración entre Agricultores y Agroempresas (1982 : San Felipe de,Puerto Plata. Informe Seminario Ejecutivo De Diseño De Proyectos De Colaboración Entre Agricultores y Agroempresas : Puerto Plata, República Dominicana, Del 17 Al 20 De Junio De 1982. Ed. George A. Truitt, Fund for Multinational Management Education, and Fundación Dominicana de Desarrollo. New York: New York : Fund for Multinational Management Education, 1982.

Situación y Perspectivas De La Educación En La República Dominicana. Ed. (Debating society) FORUM. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : FORUM, 1985.

Stephen M. Fuller. Marines in the Dominican Republic, 1916-1924. Ed. Graham A. Cosmas. Washington, D.C.: Washington, D.C. : History and Museums Division, Headquarters, U.S. Marine Corps, 1974.

Los Trujillo Se Escriben. Ed. Bernardo Vega. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Fundación Cultural Dominicana, 1987.

Turismo En Cifras 1985. Ed. Dominican Republic. Secretaría de Estado de Turismo. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Secretaría de Estado de Turismo, República Dominicana, 1986.

United States Defense Mapping Agency,Topographic Center. Dominican Republic : Official Standard Names Approved by the United States Board on Geographic Names. Washington, D.C.: Washington, D.C. : Defense Mapping Agency Topographic Center, 1972.

United States Office, of Geography. Dominican Republic : Official Standard Names Approved by the United States Board on Geographic Names. Washington, D.C.: Washington, D.C. : U.S. Governmint Printing Office, 1957.

United States. Agricultural Commodities : Agreement between the United States of America and the Dominican Republic Signed at Santo Domingo September 28, 1977 and Amending Agreement Effected by Exchange of Notes Signed at Santo Domingo December 13 and 20, 1977. Ed. United States. Dept. of State. Washington: Washington : Dept. of State : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off, 1978.

Viajeros De Francia En Santo Domingo. Ed. Emilio Rodríguez Demorizi. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Editora del Caribe, 1979.

Víctor, Avila Suero. Barreras : Estudio Etnográfico De Una Comunidad Rural Dominicana. Santo Domingo: Santo Domingo : Universidad APEC, 1989.

Wade, B. F. Report of the Commission of Inquiry to Santo Domingo with the Introductory Message of the President, Special Reports made to the Commission/#...#. Ed. A. D. White and S. G. (Samuel Gridley) Howe. Washington, D.C.: Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1871.

William Krehm. Democracies and Tyrannies of the Caribbean. Westport, Conn.: Westport, Conn. : Lawrence Hill & Co, 1984.

Yoryi Lockward. Acúcheme Uté. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Santo Domingo, República Dominicana : Editorial La Nación, 1962.