Skip to main content

Costume Studies: Finding Articles

This guide you will be introduced to Books, Journals and videos available from Bobst in the area of Costume Studies

Articles & Databases Get a list of databases within your subject area to search within, or search pre-selected groups of databases simultaneously

3 things to remember!

When using article databases, remember there are always three stages in your workflow (the "three Ds"):

1) Discovery: Do (and redo!) your searching, using varying terms and combining using the Boolean operators "and, or, not" to get good results. Your first search is not your best search, but rather an opportunity to learn how to immediately do a better search

2) Delivery: For items that you like, select the link to the fulltext if available, or click on the button to see if we own the item. If you want to keep this item, either save it to your own computer, email it to yourself, or print it.

3) Database it: Keep the "meta-information" about all that good resources you found for your records and to make your bibliographies. You will find yourself returning to resources so having a system in place will save you time and aggravation later. The NYU Libraries offer a number of tools to our users to help with this, in particular a tool called RefWorks, which you can learn about here.

International journal of fashion design, technology and education

Journal of fashion marketing and management

Textile research journal

Textile history

New! The Vogue Archive

http://wulibraries.typepad.com/.a/6a00d8341ce04153ef017d3e2f8121970c-800wi

The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names

General Databases

General Databases are multidisciplinary (cover all types of subjects) and tend to focus on popular magazine and newspaper articles (although some scholarly journals are covered). Examples:

Subject Specific Databases

Subject specific datbases focus on one subject area and tend to focus on scholarly journal articles. Examples:

Electronic Journals & Texts

Electronic journals and texts provide full text of articles. Examples:

NYT Fashion and Style

Loading

Clothing and Textiles Research Journal

Costume : the journal of the Costume Society

International Journal of Clothing Science and Technology‎