Skip to main content

Finding Dissertations: NYU Dissertations

This guide helps you locate NYU, U.S., and international dissertations and theses.

Microforms

Dissertations completed at NYU through 2007 are available on microform.

What are microforms?

Microforms are pieces of film that contain reproductions of magazines, journals, and other materials. Because newsprint and other types of paper often decay, microforms are used as a method of preserving content.  Microforms come in 2 formats: microfilm (on reels) and microfiche (sheets).

Where are the microforms?

Microforms are located on LL2 in the Microforms Reading Room.

Can I get help?

The Microforms Reading Room is staffed. In addition, notebooks with instructions are available.

Can I make copies?

All microform machines have printing capabilities; some machines also allow you to make PDF.

Offsite Materials

Some of our materials are stored in an offsite facility. 

To get an item that is marked as offsite:

1) Search for the item in BobCat
2) Click on the Title
3) Click on the Availabilty Status/Call number link
4) Click Request

Offsite materials usually arrive within 2 business days. You'll be notified once the item has arrived, and you can pick it up at the Circulation Desk.

NYU Dissertations Online

All dissertations completed at NYU are indexed in the online database Dissertations and Theses Global. Users who wish to access NYU dissertations, especially dissertations completed since 1997, would be best served by searching this database. Many (but not all) dissertations will be available in full-text.

When searching the database, you can use the Advanced Search functions to limit your results to only dissertations completed at NYU or you can leave the "institution" field blank to search dissertations completed anywhere. 

Why can't I see the full-text? 

When dissertation authors submit their work to Dissertations and Theses Global, they have the option to embargo the full-text for up to two years from that point. Authors may choose to embargo their dissertations for several reasons, for example, if they are planning to publish the dissertation (or a version of it) as a book. There are currently no options for NYU students to access the full-text of a dissertation if the author has chosen to embargo.  In some cases, the author can extend the embargo beyond 2 years. It is estimated that approximately 50% of dissertation authors at NYU choose to embargo.

Dissertations that have been embargoed will appear with the note, "At the request of the author, this graduate work is not available to view or purchase" in the upper right-hand corner of record.

NYU Dissertations in Hard Copy

NYU dissertations completed before 2007 are available in both print and microform at Bobst.

Bobst Library does not keep copies of any dissertations from the following programs:

  • The Medical School and the Dental School maintain separate collections of their own dissertations
  • Master's theses are not kept by Bobst Library. Check with the corresponding department or school to explore whether such theses are held.

Bound copies of dissertations are held offsite and must be requested through the catalog for delivery to the library.

Call number ranges for NYU dissertations (Dissertations from Tisch and Courant are under GSAS):

  • LD 3907 .E3 - School of Education
  • LD 3907 .G5 - Wagner School of Public Administration
  • LD 3907 .G6 - Stern School of Business
  • LD 3907 .G7 - Graduate School of Arts and Science (GSAS)
  • LD 3907 .S3 - School of Social Work

Dissertations published before 2008 at the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, Wagner School of Public Administration, Stern School of Business, Silver School of Social Work, and Steinhardt School of Education are available on microform. Microform copies are located in the Microforms Center on LL2 of Bobst Library. These are arranged chronologically by school. Some of the older rolls of film contain more than one dissertation. These copies are each given a thesis number in chronological, alphabetical order. The thesis numbers are listed on each roll, corresponding to the cataloged location in BobCat.

Using BobCat to Find NYU Dissertations

If you already know the author or the title of the dissertation, you can search BobCat with that information to locate our copy and either recall it from offsite storage or find it in the Microforms Center. For those wishing to search BobCat for dissertations on certain subjects, perform an Advanced Search using the words "Dissertation" AND "[desired subject]."

Please note: NYU dissertations in the Proquest Dissertations & Global Theses database are indexed in BobCat regardless of whether or not they have been embargoed. Just because a dissertation record appears in BobCat does not mean that it is available in full-text.