Research Guides: Finding Dissertations: International Resources

Further International Resources

This page contains information for locating dissertations from institutions outside of North America. Holdings from Columbia University Libraries and New York Public Research Libraries (NYPL) supplement Bobst Library's holdings.

To find catalogs of foreign dissertations in the Library Catalog, conduct a keyword search using the terms "Academic dissertations" "Bibliography" and the name of the country or region of interest.

International Resources

Center for Research Libraries (CRL). Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database
Approximately 20,000 foreign dissertations are cataloged in this database. However, CRL has more than 750,000 foreign dissertations. Users may need to search the CRL Catalog or contact CRL to inquire about a specific thesis.
Networked Digital Library of Dissertations and Theses
Search across electronic dissertations and theses from multiple institutions.

Guide to Theses and Dissertations by Michael M. Reynolds
Call Number: NYU Bobst REF1: Z5053.A1 R49 1985
ISBN: 9780897741491
Publication Date: 1986-01-01

Australia

Union List of Higher Degree Theses in Australian University Libraries. Cumulative Edition to 1965. (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYU Bobst: Z5055.A79 U5 OFFSITE
Union List of Higher Degree Theses in Australian University Libraries (PRINT RESOURCE)
Supplement NYPL:1966-1968

Austria

Austrian Dissertations Database (1990-Present)
Gesamtverzeichnis örreichischer Dissertationen.1966- (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL Offsite: 1966-1984
Öterreichische Bibliographie. 1945-Present (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL: 1945-Present

Belgium

Répertoire des thèses de doctorat/Repertorium van doctorale proefschriften (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL Offsite: 1971-1980
Organized by three major disciplines: humanities, medicine and science, and then by author name. Includes an author and keyword index. The foreword is in English.

Canada

Dissertation Abstracts
Provides some full-text.
Canadian Graduate Theses in the Humanities and Social Sciences, 1921-1946/Thèses des graduées canadiens dans les humanités et les sciences sociales, 1921-1946 (PRINT RESOURCE)
Organized by subject and then by university. Indexes both Master's and Doctorate degrees. Entries include short note on the contents of the thesis. Includes an author and subject index. NYU Bobst: Z5055.C2 O88 OFFSITE
Canadian graduate theses 1919-1967; an annotated bibliography (PRINT RESOURCE)
Covers economics, business and industrial relations
NYU Bobst: Z5055.C2 W6 OFFSITE
Canadian Theses/Thèses canadiennes, 1952- (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYU Bobst Z5055.C2O883: 1963-1966 OFFSITE
NYPL Offsite: 1947-1965, 1970-72
Columbia: 1985-86

China

China Doctor/Master's Dissertations
Contains full-text of dissertations from 1999 forward and full-text of masters theses from 2000 forward. Use Internet Explorer, NOT Firefox, to access this database.

Denmark

The Royal Library
Dansk Bogfortegnelse, 1851-. (national bibliography) (PRINT RESOURCE)
Lists current Danish publications in book form and in microform. Organized in two sections: 1) alphabetically by author and title, 2) by subject heading. The preface is in English.
NYPL: 1933-1990 (incomplete)
Columbia: 1841-1983, 1987-1988, 1990-2002, 2004 (incomplete)

Finland

E-thesis (University of Helsinki)
This site contains doctoral dissertations and other publications from the University of Helsinki. All full-text publications are freely accessible via the Internet.
Suomen kirjallisuus. Finlands litteratur. (Finnish National Bibliography) (PRINT RESOURCE)
Covers all books published in Finland. Organized in two sections: 1) alphabetically by title, 2) by subject heading. There is an index to the subject section. The preface is in English. NYPL Offsite: 1944-1993

France

Inventaire des thèses de doctorat soutenues devant les universités françaises. Droit, sciences économiques, sciences de gestion, lettres, sciences humaines, théologies
Organized by subject. Indexes "doctorat d'Etat, nouveau doctorat (reg. Jan. 1984), doctorat de 3e cycle, doctorat d'université, docteur-ingénieur". Includes author and university indices. NYU Bobst: Ref1 Z5055.F69 I59 1989-1992
Catalogue des thèses de doctorat soutenues devant les universités françaises, 1884-1971 (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL (Some Offsite): 1884-1960, 1962-1968, 1970-1972 (lacks issues)
Catalogue des thèses de doctorat soutenues devant les universités françaises. Nouv. sér. 1972-1980 (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL: 1973-1978
Maire, Albert: Répertoire alphabétique des thèses de doctorat ès lettres de universités françaises 1810-1900.
NYU Bobst: Ref1 Z5055.F79 M22 1903
Mourier, Athénaïs Notice sur le doctorat és lettres, suivie du Catalogue et l'analyse des thées françaises et latines admises par les facultés des lettres depuis 1810, avec index et table alphabétique des docteurs' (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYU Bobst: REF1 Z5055.F79 M8 (1810-1880)
NYU Bobst: REF1 Z5055.F79 M9 (1880-1902, 3 vols.)
Annuaire des docteurs (lettres) de l'Université Paris et des autres universités françaises. Bibliographie analytique des thèses (1899-1965)(PRINT RESOURCE)
NYU Bobst Main Collection: Z5055.F79 A7
Bibliographie analytique des thèses de doctorat des universités de France, 1966-1974. (PRINT RESOURCE)
Organized in three sections: 1) by university and then alphabetically by author name; 2) by author; 3) by subject and then subdivided into three subcategories: author name, repérage and geographical terms.
Organized by subject. Indexes "doctorat d'Etat, nouveau doctorat (reg. Jan. 1984), doctorat de 3e cycle, doctorat d'université, docteur-ingénieur". Includes author and university indices. NYPL: 1977

Germany

Deutsche Nationalbibliothek
Deutsche Nationalbibliothek is Germany's national library and collects German theses in a comprehensive manner.
Gesamtverzeichnis deutschsprachiger Hochschulschriften 1966-1980 (PRINT RESOURCE)
Covers German language dissertations from Germany (Bundesrepublik and DDR), Austria, Switzerland, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Finland, Great Britain, Hungary, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Sweden, and the USA. Organized alphabetically by author. Also includes a 20 volume Register that indexes each title keyword, which allows for a certain degree of subject retrieval. NYU Bobst REF1 Z5055.G4G47 1984 (40 vols.)
Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schrifttums. 1911-1965 (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYU Bobst REF1 Z2221.G47 (150 vols.) This catalog focuses on the totality of German language publications, including German dissertations (Bundesrepublik & DDR), the dissertations listed in Jahresverzeichnis der deutschen Hochschulschriften, the dissertations from Basel, Bern, Freiburg/Fribourg, St. Gallen and Zhrich (taken from Jahresverzeichnis der schweizerischen Hochschulschriften ) and the dissertations from the Öterreichische Bibliographie.
The dissertations are interfiled alphabetically by author with the other works: without the author name it is impossible to locate particular dissertations. There is no subject access: for the period up to 1969 the Jahresverzeichnis der deutschen Hochschulschriften should be consulted.
Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schriftums. 1700-1910.
NYU Bobst Microform MF 13 (791 fiches)
This catalog focuses on the totality of German language publications, including dissertations. The dissertations are interfiled alphabetically with the other works. Without the author name it is impossible to locate a particular dissertation. For the period from 1885 onward, subject access is possible by using Jahresverzeichnis der deutschen Hochschulschriften.
Jahresverzeichnis der Hochschulschriften (PRINT RESOURCE)
Columbia Offsite: 1968-1987
Divided by DDR and BRD, then by school, then by dissertation A & B, then alphabetically by author. Includes subject and author indices.
Jahresverzeichnis der an den deutschen Universitäten und Hochschulen erschienen Schriften. Jahresverzeichnis der deutschen Hochschulschriften. [1885-1969] (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYU Bobst: Z5055.G39B5 1885-1935
Columbia: 1905-1968
Organized by university, then alphabetically by author. Indexed by author and subject.
Mundt, Hermann: Bio-bibliographisches Verzeichnis von Universitäts- u. Hochschuldrucken (Dissertationen) : vom Ausgang des 16. bis Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYU Bobst Main Collection: Z5053 .M89 1965 OFFSITE
Deutsche Nationalbibliographie und Bibliographie der im Ausland erschienenen deutschsprachigen Veröffentlichungen. Reihe H: Hochschulschriften. 1991- (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL: 1991-
Organized by both subject and then by author. Indexed by name, title and keyword.
Deutsche Bibliographie. Hochschulschriften-Verzeichnis. 1972-1990. (Deutsche Bibliothek) (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL: 1972-1990
Columbia: 1972-1990
Organized by subject heading and then by author. Indexed by name, title and keyword.
Deutsche Nationalbibliographie und Bibliographie des im Ausland erschienen Schrifttums. Reihe C: Dissertations und Habilitationsschriften. 1968-1990. (Deutsche Bhcherei) (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL: 1969-1990
Columbia: 1977-1990
Organized by both subject and author. Contains a name, title and keyword index.

Great Britain and Ireland

British Library EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service
Search across 250,000+ theses for free and order full text quickly and easily.
Historical research for higher degrees in the United Kingdom. Part I, Theses completed. 1986- Present (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYU Bobst: Z5055 .G62 1986- Present (Current Year in REF1) Older volumes OFFSITE.
Historical research for higher degrees in the United Kingdom. Part II, Theses in progress. 1986- Present (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYU Bobst: Z6201 .G625 1986- Present (Current Year in REF1)Older volumes OFFSITE.
Historical research for university degrees in the United Kingdom. Part I, Theses completed. 1966-1985 (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYU Bobst: Z5055 .G62 OFFSITE
Historical research for university degrees in the United Kingdom. Part II, Theses in progress. 1968-1985 (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYU Bobst: Z5055 .G62 OFFSITE
Bulletin of the Institute of historical research. Theses supplement. 1933-1966 (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYU Bobst: Z5055 .G62

India

Indian dissertation abstracts 1971-1989 (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL SIBL: 1973-1989

Japan

JAIRO: Japanese Institutional Repositories Online
Access to tens of thousands of records for dissertations and theses. Full-text availability

Italy

Tesionline
Also in print: BNI, Bibliografia nazionale italiana: tesi di dottorato. 1995-NYU Bobst REF1: Z2341.B53 1995- Present

Kenya

The union list of theses and dissertations held by universities and research institutions in Kenya (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL Schomburg: 2003-Present

The Netherlands

Narcis
Access to more than 27,000 open access doctoral e-theses from all Dutch universities.
Bibliografie van nederlandse proefschriften/Dutch Theses, 1977- (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL: 1977-1986
Organized by broad subject area and then alphabetically by author name. Contains an author index.
Catalogus van academische geschriften in Nederland verschenen, 1924-1976 (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL: 1946-1976
Organized by university, then by subject and then by author. Contains an author index.
Catalogus van academische geschriften in Nederland en Nederlandsch Indie verschenen, 1924-1945 (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL: 1924-1945
Organized by university and then alphabetically by author name. Has author index.

Norway

Norsk Bokfortegnelse. Arskatalog. (national bibliography) (PRINT RESOURCE)
Columbia: 1975-2002
Organized by author and by subject. Contains a subject and an ISBN index.
Norwegian National Bibliography

Poland

Nauka Polska

Russia & The Former Soviet Union

Elektronnaia biblioteka dissertatsii
Searchable database of electronic dissertations from the Rossiiskaia gosudarstvennaia biblioteka
Rossiiskaia gosudarstvennaia biblioteka
Catalog of dissertations and summaries (avtoreferaty)
Dissertation CIS
Russian dissertations (titles in English)
Dissertations, Tartu University (Estonia) Full text
From the University of Tartu in Estonia, a Russian formalist outpost for many decades. This site has dissertations in Russian and English as well as Estonian. Click on "Go" for most recent list. Sort by date, title, or author.

South Africa

Gesamentlike katalogus van proefskrifte en verhandelinge van die Suid-Afrikaanse universiteite. Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations of South African Universities. [1959-1993] (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYU Bobst: Z5055.S45M32 1959-1964, 1966-1970 OFFSITE
Organized by subject, university and author. Includes Master's and Doctorate degrees. Includes author index.

Spain

Dialnet
Free service with full-text theses.
Tesis Doctorales (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL:Volume 1 (1971/1972)-
Columbia:Volume 1 (1971/1972)-

Sweden

Svensk Bok-katalog.(national bibliography) (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL: 1866-1965
Organized alphabetically by author and title, as well as by subject heading and then title.
Svensk Bokforteckning. (national bibliography) (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL: 1948-1997
Lists all Swedish publications. Organized in two sections: 1) alphabetically by author and title, 2) by subject heading and then by title, with a subject index.

Switzerland

Jahresverzeichnis der schweizerischen Hochschulschriften = Catalogue des Écrits académiques suisses. 1897-1991 (PRINT RESOURCE)
NYPL: 1897-1980
Organized by university and then by faculty and then by author name. Contains title and author indices.

Turkey

The National Thesis Center of the Turkish Council of High Education
Interface in Turkish and English