Skip to main content

19th Century Theatre History: #2 Finding Books

Use this guide to find Bibliographies,Indexes, Books, Articles, Newspapers etc. pertaining to the topic 19th century theatre

New Books

To find the newest books, just use BobCat to select newest from the list of catagories to the left of the screen. Below are a few very new books.

New Books

Online Reference

Search BobCat for Books and Articles

Search here for books, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, databases, and indexes in our local libraries and special collections.

Browsing the shelves

Rediscover one of the best technologies that was ever invented! The book!

Academic libraries that use the Library of Congress Classification Outline (the majority of them) can easily be browsed for serendipitous discovery of wonderful books in your subject area. All you need to know is the call number range to get yourself situated.

Library of Congress Call Number Areas:

Literature (General). Drama: PN1600-3307

  • Drama. History: PN 1720-1861
  • Dramatic representation. The Theater: PN2000-3307
  • By time period: PN2131-219
  • Collections of General Literature. Drama: PN6110.5-6120

Finding Books Outside of Bobst

In WorldCat you will find a larger selection of books. Some to these have the NYU designation but many do not. Always check the title in BobCat to be sure it its available. If not you can place an interlibrary loan for the book. Another good thing about WorldCat is that unlike BobCat, OCLC searchs chapters of books; so some times you will find just the chapter information your looking for!

Plays Online

Play Index

Online books via ebrary, Playgrave, and more

Other electronic books

Dissertations

A dissertation is a treatise advancing a new point of view resulting from research; usually a requirement for an advanced academic degree. I have included dissertations on the Finding Books section but keep in mind, they are not books. This database has access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Masters theses have been selectively indexed since 1962. Abstracts are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present. The Bibliographies of dissertations can be especially helpful to guide you to other sources.

To Search: scroll down to highlighted portion