19th Century Theatre History

The foundation of the Literature Resource Center is built on three hallmark author databases: Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 100,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars.

Index indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
* Biographical dictionaries and who's whos, which supply information on a number of individuals.
* Subject encyclopedias, which include some biographical entries.
* Volumes of literary criticism, which may contain only a limited amount of biographical information but give critical surveys of a writer's works.
* Indexes, which refer the user to a body of information found elsewhere.

Plus contains more than 95,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 26,000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations from H. W. Wilson databases. Wilson Biographies Plus contains the full text of the articles from more than 100 print volumes of biographical reference books published by H. W. Wilson, including Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors, American Reformers, and numerous biographical books on musicians and composers from throughout history.

American National Biography (ANB) contains biographical essays and topical articles on the lives of noteworthy deceased Americans to the present.

Allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

NYU's subscription provides the full text of several periodicals (and a few publically available books). It is particularly strong on African American and abolitionist newspapers, the history of the United States before Reconstruction, and the campaign for women's suffrage in the United States.

the major indexing and fulltext database for African American studies. It includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, a series of essays by leading scholars about the Black Experience; HistoryMakers, a streaming audiovisual collection of 100 oral history interviews (of 2-3 hours each and corresponding transcripts) with prominent contemporary African Americans; historical backfiles of The Chicago Defender and Daily Defender; the International Index to Black Periodicals, which covers scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, including full text for many titles; and Black Literature Index, which contains over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.

Contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s

America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 provides access to searchable digitized copies of newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries for a Hispanic readership. It features hundreds of monolingual and bilingual newspapers in Spanish and English, including many obscure titles from the 19th century.

Provides full-text access to back issues of The Times newspaper. Dates of coverage: 1785 to 2006.

Gale Primary Sources is a groundbreaking research environment that integrates formerly disparate digital collections to enable innovative research. Gale provides an unprecedented, seamless research experience that helps students find a starting point, search across a wide array of materials and points in time, and discover new ways to analyze information. ** The database includes the subscribed collections Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Amateur Newspapers from the American Antiquarian Society; American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society; Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources; The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600-1926; The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926; The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources; The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926; Making of Modern Law: Landmark Records and Briefs of the U.S. Courts of Appeals, 1890-1980; The Making of the Modern World; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; Declassified Documents Online: Twentieth-Century British Intelligence; and Sabin Americana, 1500-1926. **

provides a powerful search engine and clearinghouse to archival repositories and their holdings world wide. In a way, it is one-stop shopping for archival research. In a single effort, users can search their topics across all contributing archival finding aids and access contact information for individual repositories immediately.

A current directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but also those of foreign observers.
In order to be selected for this database, items:

* Must have been written between 1855 and 1875
* Letters and diaries must have been written contemporaneously with the events they describe.
* Letters must be of a personal nature, e.g., official dispatches, reports, military orders, and "public" letters are excluded.
* Memoirs are restricted to those that describe events during the war (1860-1865)

will include approximately 100,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from the 1500 to 1900, plus several thousand pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Contains contemporaneous letters, diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives.

Everyday Life and Women in America showcases unique primary source material circa 1800-1920 for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history. Sourced from the collections of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University, and The New York Public Library, it is comprised of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals, and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social, and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban, and rural cultures.