Skip to main content

19th Century Theatre History: Citing Information

Use this guide to find Bibliographies,Indexes, Books, Articles, Newspapers etc. pertaining to the topic 19th century theatre

How to Cite Articles and Books

In academic writing, it is important to cite your references - in other words, to acknowledge and document the authors' works which you have consulted and used in your own work. There are a number of different options for formatting citations. Certain bibliographic styles correspond to certain disciplines, and you often may have a specific style assigned to you for a project. However, the most important thing to remember is that your citation style must be consistent throughout a single paper.

Citation Tips

https://www.concordiacollege.edu/files/pages/research_and_documentation-3.jpg

To Search: click on Humanities, Documenting sources, LA in-text citations, or MLA list of works cited.  includes how to cite live performance.

Plagiarism - whose idea was that

RefWorks

http://library.ucalgary.ca/files/library/refworksPromo.jpg

RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Easy Bib

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-rcUcpldoGU4/TnSMVunljpI/AAAAAAAAApM/Vk-xknLT1d8/s320/Easybib.jpeg

Need something less heavy-duty than RefWorks or EndNote?  NYU Libraries now subscribes to EasyBib, a online bibliography formatting and citation management tool which supports:

-MLA, APA, and Chicago styles
-Parenthetical and footnote formatting
-Saving, sharing, and exporting citation lists

New! Oxford Bibliographies Online

Avoiding Plagiarism

This site contains an interactive tutorial that explains what plagiarism is and how to properly credit authors.