Skip to main content

Design for Stage and Film: Finding Articles in Film

A guide to books, articles and databases on set, film, lighting and sound design.

George Amberg Study Center

Hawaii Theatre Projection Booth, christian razukas from Honolulu, Hawaii, Date

June 25, 2005 at 12:51

commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Projector_run...

The George Amberg Study Center 726 Broadway, 2nd Floor
New York, NY 10003

The Skirball Center also houses the William K. Everson Film Collection, containing over 4,000 feature-length films and a like number of short subjects spanning every filmmaking genre, along with an extensive manuscript collection of original scripts, autobiographical materials, correspondence and ephemera; the holdings are particularly strong in materials documenting the silent film era.  The Skirball Center recently underwent major renovations and offers state-of-the-art facilities for the study of film and the moving image.

Where else should I look for articles about Moving Image Archiving and Preservation?

Dissertation Abstracts

Business Databases

Screen Studies Collection

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool

Other Related Databases

International Databases

Orthographic projection, centred on 40 degrees S, 170 degrees W. Shoreline data from GSHHS ("crude" level), a public-domain source.

Search BobCat

Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.

NYU Libraries' online catalog.

Other Important Databases!