Skip to main content

Psychology: Organizational Tools

This guide provides descriptions of commonly used library resources for research and scholarship in the field of psychology.

Saving and Organizing Your Research

Import citations from electronic databases and catalogs, take notes, organize your research, format your references in standard styles (MLA, APA, etc.), insert footnotes and endnotes directly into your papers, and more using the following bibliographic management tools:

  • RefWorks
    NYU purchases a campus-wide subscription to this web-based service that covers all members of the NYU community. Because RefWorks is web-based, you can use it from any Internet-connected computer/device on campus or off.
     
  • Zotero
    A free download that works with your web browser. There are two options: Zotero for Firefox is a Firefox-specific extension that offers the full range of functionality. Zotero Standalone--a separate browser-independent application that can be used with Chrome, Safari, or Opera--offers slightly less functionality than the Firefox extension.
     
  • EndNote
    NYU has a campus-wide license to this software, which you download (at no cost to you) to your laptop or desktop computer. The software includes a less developed web-based component called EndNoteWeb, which can be used to sync across multiple personal computers.
     
  • Mendeley
  • EasyBib
    A Web-based service that offers two versions: free and premium The free version is a citation generator only (can't save and organize citations), covers 3 citation styles, and contains advertising. The premium version -- paid for by NYU -- generates citations, covers 9 citation styles, saves and organizes citations, features virtual notecards and dynamic outlining, and does not contain advertising.


Not sure how to choose which of the above tools is right for you?  Come to a Library Workshop or view this comparison chart.