Skip to main content

Slavic Specialized Collections: Perestroika to the Fall of the USSR

Specialized and unique Slavic collections at Bobst

From Perestroika to the Fall of the USSR: A Bobst Collection of 15 Core Russian Newspapers on Microfilm from 1985-1993 and beyond

(List also includes electronic coverage to the present)

Den': see Zavtra.

    Izvestiia electronic coverage 1917-the present    (1917-2010 full image; 2011-present full  text, Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)
           (microfilm 1934-1938; 1970 through 2000; electronic coverage from 1980-1984

        Komsomol'skaia Pravda. (microfilm 1985 through 2000; electronic coverage Oct. 2, 1997 to the present via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)

          Leningradskaia Pravda: see Sankt Peterburgskie Vedomosti.

            Literaturnaia Gazeta (microfilm 1985 through 1997; electronic coverage 1997 to the present via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)

              Moscow News (microfilm 1985 through 2000; electronic coverage Jan. 29, 1998 to the present via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)

                Moskovskie Novosti (microfilm 1985 through 1993 plus electronic coverage 1998 through 2007 via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)

                  Moskovskaia Pravda (microfilm 1985 through 1993 plus electronic coverage 1998 to the present via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)

                    Nezavisimaia Gazeta started in1990 (microfilm coverage 1991 through 2000; electronic coverage Dec. 30, 1995 to the present via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)

                    Novaia gazeta (Ponedel'nik) Started in 1996. (microfilm 1998-2000 microfilm; electronic coverage 1997-present via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers) 

                      Obshchaia Gazeta started in 1991 (microfilm 1991, 1993 through 2000; electronic coverage 1997 through May 2002 via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)

                        Pravda electronic coverage 1912-present (1912-2009 full image, 2010-present, full text via Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)
                          (microfilm 1917-20; 1927-1932; 1970-1979; 1985 through 2002; electronic coverage Oct. 31, 2003 to present via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers; also Pravda Daily 1997-1998; Pravda 5 1997-1998)

                          Sankt Peterburgskie Vedomosti/Leningradskaia Pravda.
                          Leningradskaia Pravda changed its name to Sankt Peterburskie Vedomosti in 1992 (microfilm of Leningradskaia Pravda, 1985-1991; Sankt 
                          Peterburgskie Vedomosti, 1992 through 1993; electronic coverage July 1, 1997 to the present via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers).

                            Sovetskaia Rossiia (microfilm 1986 through 1999; electronic coverage Feb. 18, 1999 to the present via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)

                              Svobodnaia mysl'/Kommunist
                              Kommunist changed its name to Svobodnaia mysl' in 1991. Available to the present in hard copy. HX8.K56 (Kommunist) JC421.S863 (Svobodnaia mysl')

                                Trud (microfilm 1985 through 2000; electronic coverage Oct. 24, 1997 to the present via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)

                                  Vecherniaia Moskva (microfilm 1985 to through 1993, 1997-2000; electronic coverage 2000 to the present via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)

                                    Zavtra/Den'
                                    Den' started in 1991 and changed its name to Zavtra in 1993. (microfilm 1991-1995; electronic coverage April 4, 1996 to present via the Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)

                                                                                                                           Collection compiled at the suggestion and with the advice of Prof. Stephen Cohen