This research guide shows you how to find New York City documents. Please note that some documents provide call numbers which reference the Columbia collection. You will need to search BobCat for those items to see if NYU holds the item.
The NYU Data Service Studio conveniently locates staff, software, statistical computing, and data collection resources to support NYU research and scholarship. You can make appointments to get assistance locating, using, and manipulating data.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application with access to thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables that can be used to develop interactive thematic maps and export high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software. Individual registrations are required.
Covers urban sociology.Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
The following databases will allow you to search for scholarly articles related to the areas of urban studies and sociology.
SocINDEX offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies and more.
The PAIS International database from CSA contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.