Skip to main content

U.S. History: Subscription Databases

U.S. history

What can be hidden in databases

To the right is an alphabetical list of databases of potential utility in researching U.S. history.  But what this list does not alwasy tell you is what is hidden in that content.  To be fair that would be impossible but I wanted some items to be brought out so I have added them to this box.

 

Newspapers: Accessible Archives contains the following newspapers: The Charleston Mercury, The Christian Recorder, The Colored American, Douglass Monthly, Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, The Liberator, The National Era, The New York Herald, The North Star, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Provincial Freeman, Richmond Enquirer, The South Carolina Gazette, The Weekly Advocate.

What can be hidden in databases

On the sub-level pages are alphabetiucal listings of databses of possible use in researching the history of the United States.  But what this list does not alwasy tell you is what is hidden in that content. To be fair, with almost a thousand databses, that would be near impossible but I wanted some items to be brought out so I have added them to this box.

Newspapers:

 

The database Accessible Archives contains the following newspapers: The Charleston Mercury, The Christian Recorder, The Colored American, Douglass Monthly, Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, The Liberator, The National Era, The New York Herald, The North Star, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Provincial Freeman, Richmond Enquirer, The South Carolina Gazette, The Weekly Advocate.  It also has a database of selected articles from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury, and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.

Subject Librarian

Andrew H. Lee's picture
Andrew H. Lee
Contact:
Office directions: on the Bobst Mezzanine. West 3rd Street side, I am in room 1M-04E, just past midway (6th door going west), and my name is on the door.

(212) 998-2633