Research Guides: Journalism: News and Newspapers

Activate your free New York Times account

Create your free New York Times Account This link opens in a new window
Current NYU students, faculty, and staff can activate complimentary access to The New York Times digital news content using their NYU email address. After using this link to create an account, NYU users should access NYTimes content by directly logging into the NYTimes site. This complimentary access includes New York Times audio, but excludes NYTimes cooking and puzzles.
We are currently working on resolving account creation issues for this resource. To create an account, please click "Go" button under off campus instruction section even if you are on campus.

Please disconnect from any VPNs and open an incognito or private browser to create a NYTimes account. For additional help and troubleshooting, see our step-by-step sign up instructions.

Activate your free Wall Street Journal account

Create your free Wall Street Journal account
Current NYU students, faculty, and staff can activate complimentary access to The Wall Street Journal digital news content using their NYU email address. After using this link to create an account, NYU users can access Wall Street Journal content by directly logging into the WSJ site.

For additional help and troubleshooting, see our step-by-step sign up instructions.

Online Access to Popular US Newspapers and Magazines

The New York Times (print and online articles)
The Libraries' Factiva subscription to the New York Times contains articles from both the print edition (1969-present) and the online-only content from nytimes.com (2012-present). Images or visualizations accompanying each article are not included.
The New York Times (print-only articles)
These NYT subscriptions contain the articles that were published in each daily edition of the print paper; web-exclusive content from nytimes.com is often not included here (see the "New York Times - online content" link above for web-exclusive articles).
These subscriptions are also html full text only, which means they will not include images, advertisements, or other context included in the "as printed" version. To view current articles and full pages of the NYT as they appeared in print, access the print copies on the 9th floor of Bobst, or the microform copies on Lower Level 2 of Bobst.
The Washington Post
For articles that appear only on washingtonpost.com, click on the link for the "Factiva: Available from 2007" database. To see the "as printed" version of the Washington Post, click on the link for "ProQuest Recent Newspapers: The Washington Post." HTML full text articles are available through the other database links.
The Wall Street Journal
Select the ProQuest Central subscription to access WSJ articles published in the paper. Use Factiva to access WSJ blog articles.
The Financial Times
ProQuest Central and Factiva also provide access to digital-only articles from FT.com. Please be aware that many, if not all, of the databases providing access to FT do not provide access to the most recent month.
Harvard Business Review
For the most recent issues as PDF full text articles ("as printed," including images and layout) click on the link for EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.
The New Yorker
Use "E Journal Full Text" link to see full-page image scans of complete issues. Try EBSCOhost or Gale for improved searchability.
The Atlantic
For downloadable issues as they appeared in print, access the "Flipster" database. For content published only on www.theatlantic.com (that may not have been included in the as-printed edition) access the Factiva database; coverage of www.theatlantic.com articles via Factiva is not comprehensive.
The Economist
The NYU Libraries has access to issues from 1843 to present.

Current News Databases

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream contains the html full text of hundreds of U.S. and international news sources. Coverage dates vary from title to title, but generally span the most recent five to ten years.

Use these databases to search across U.S. and international newspapers, tv and radio transcripts, blog content, and more. For the most part, you can expect to find full-text coverage going back to about 1980, but coverage may vary by title.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text newspapers (U.S. and some international), news wires, transcripts, and industry trade journals.
Please clear your browser's cache and cookies before attempting to access this resource.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes U.S. and international newspapers, news transcripts, trade journals and more. Includes the AP NYC Daybook. Restricted license only allows access to a few people at a time.

Check out these Factiva search tutorials for more information on navigating this database
Requires NetID login from on or off campus.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News provides the html full text and, for some titles, the pdf "as printed" visual representation, of articles from a variety of national and international news sources, including newspapers, digital-native news websites, television and radio transcripts, blogs, college and university newspapers, journals, magazines, and some audio and video. Most international titles are English language. Dates of coverage vary from title to title, but primarily span the late 20th century to present.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the most current 3 months of newspapers around the world. Newspapers are presented in a browsable and visual format. Includes many tabloid papers.

Historical News Databases

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to several fully digitized titles, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, Washington Post, and many more.

Here is a selection of historical newspaper resources, mostly focused on U.S. titles. More collections are linked from the News & Newspapers page within BobCat. See also the research guide for International News Sources, for additional resources.

The New York Times with Index (1851—2015) This link opens in a new window
Go directly to Proquest's Historical New York Times database.
International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) This link opens in a new window
The International Coalition on Newspapers is a project to improve access to and preservation of world newspapers. It includes a freely accessible database of bibliographic information for more than 25,000 newspaper titles from participating institutions. It also includes lists of digitized U.S. and international newspaper titles, many of which are freely accessible online. Note: In some cases, NYU may have separate access to titles that are not free.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of early newspapers from all 50 states. Includes Early American Newspapers Series 1 - 5, 1690-1922 and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980

Google News

New York Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Collection of mostly U.S. newspapers, but includes a few international titles. Useful for local and regional titles, but coverage can be spotty.

Chronicling America: Library of Congress
Collection of digitized newspapers from the Library of Congress, covering 1836 to 1922.

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized American papers; strong in Civil War-era coverage.

Historical Newspapers Online
Comprehensive list of U.S. titles that are freely available online (including some available through collections listed above) from the University of Pennsylvania Libraries.
Associated Press Collections Online
Associated Press Collections Online is a database of primary source historical newswires from the Associated Press. Content includes images and original PDFs from the Middle East Bureaus (1967-2005, in English and Arabic), U.S. City Bureaus (post WWII), and Washington D.C. Bureaus (1938-2009), as well as the AP Internal Communications module (personal papers of AP staff members, consisting of wire copy, correspondence, journals, reporters' notebooks, and other materials).

Streaming Television and Radio content + Broadcast News Transcripts

Footage Access
Streaming historical video content from HBO, NatGeo, Discovery, NBC Universal, CNN, ABC News, the Associated Press and more, with content dating back to the 1900s. All videos are available to download and reuse under an educational license, and citation and licensing information is included with each video. NOTE: Users must create accounts using their nyu.edu email address; account activation is good for 3 months after which time the user must activate again.
SCOLA International News (Video)
Provides access to television programming from more than fifty different countries in their original languages. Currently operates four 24 hour satellite channels of programming, including current international news, variety programs, and programs from emerging nations. Offers access to program schedules, live video streaming, news releases, and more.
Factiva
Provides full text access to newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and some academic journals. Great resources for international and business research.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis Academic Universe) provides access to full-text newspapers (U.S. and some international), news wires, transcripts, and trade journals.
Please clear your browser's cache and cookies before attempting to access this resource.

Magazines and Commentary

Use these links to get directly into specific magazine platforms or search across several titles at once.

Opinion Archives This link opens in a new window
OpinionArchives provides access to commentaries and opinion pieces on topics related to politics, culture, and the arts. These titles include American Spectator, Americas Quarterly, Commentary, Commonweal, Dissent, Harpers Magazine, The National Review, The New Republic, Washington Examiner, and The New Yorker. Coverage extends as far back as 1850.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
The Readers Guide is a comprehensive index to general interest American periodical literature. The full text version covers 1983 to the present.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the same content as the full-text version, i.e., it indexes general-interest American magazines. But it covers 1892-1983. Some content will be online; if you find citations only, check Bobst holdings to see if we microfilm for specific journal titles.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. Do a search, then use the refinement options to limit to magazines only.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Within the "easy search" box, change the source type to magazines. Or do a power search, then limit your results by type to see magazines only.
Please clear your browser's cache and cookies before attempting to access this resource.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive offers digitized primary sources for studying the history of the film, music, theater, and broadcast industries from 1880 to the near present. Magazines include American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Hollywood Reporter, Mix, Musical Express, Radio and Records, Reggae & African Beat, Spin, Stage, Variety, and Writers Guild of America.

Alternative Press

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. Coverage extends back to 1991.
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
See above description for Alternative Press Index. The Archive version covers 1969 to 1990.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Alt-PressWatch is a full text database comprised of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch, the current file, covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives with both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, the historical file covering the years 1959-1989, offers a rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.