Skip to main content

Dramaturgy: Production history and critical/audience responses

Looking for all editions of a play in all available languages? Need more info about the plays context, the playwright or when it was performed? This information and more can be found within these pages. Just click the tabs on the top of the page.

Finding Play Reviews Online

Use the following databases to connect you to play reviews, Interviews, commentary and analysis. 

Theater Review Resources in print located in the Ref 1 reference room on the 1st fl.

A Guide to Critical Reviews, by James M. Salem. New York, Scarecrow Press, 1966-71. 4 parts in 5 vols. NYU Bobst ; 1st Floor Reference Z5782 .S34
Contents: pt. 1. American drama from O'Neill to Albee.--pt. 2. The musical from Rodgers and Hart to Lerner and Loewe.--pt. 3. British & continental drama from Ibsen to Pinter.--pt. 4. The screenplay, from The jazz singer to Dr. Strangelove (2 v.)
                                       2nd edition. 1973-76. 
Contents: pt. 1. American drama, 1909-1969.--pt. 2. The musical, 1909-1974.--pt. 3. Foreign drama, 1909-1977
                                       3rd edition. 1984-1991. 
Contents: pt. 1. American drama, 1909-1982 -- pt. 2. The musical. 1909-1989.

New York Theatre Critics' Reviews. New York, Critics' Theatre Reviews, inc. 1940-1994.  NYU Bobst ; 1st Floor Reference PN1601 .N4
"Theatre reviews is a complete guide and record of the New York stage, reprinted from New York sun, New York times, New York herald tribune, New York post, New York daily news, New York world telegram" 1940- ; reprinted from the New York daily news, Wall Street journal, Time, New York post, Women's wear daily, New York times, Christian science monitor, Newsweek, NBC

Theatre Record (formerly London Theatre Record). 1991 - date.  NYU Bobst ; 1st Floor Reference ; PN2596.L6 L66 (Current issues in REF1 Desk)
Reprints published reviews of theatrical performances in London and elsewhere in the UK. Includes production credits and dates of performance. Review sources include The Spectator, The Daily Mail, Mail on Sunday, Independent, Time Out, Guardian, The Times and other UK publications. Annual Index.

New York Times Theater Reviews. New York Times and Arno, 1971- .  Bobst REF1 (PN1581 .N42n) YEARS:1971-1999/2000
Facsimile reprints of the reviews of theater productions as they appeared in the New York Times. Arranged chronologically, the set also includes appendices of awards and prizes and of productions and runs by season as well as indexes by title, production company, and personal name. The first 21 volumes cover the years 1870-1970. Since then volumes have been published biannually. [NOTE: these reviews can also be found online through Proquest Historical Newspapers]

Samples, Gordon. How to Locate Reviews of Plays and Films: a Bibliography of Criticism from the Beginnings to the Present. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1976. Offsite Available NYU Bobst ; Main Collection ; Z5781 .S19
Lists resources for finding theatrical reviews, including indexing services, theatre periodicals, reference guides, etc. Somewhat dated, but still useful for historical research.

More Review locations

Popular Newspapers

commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Shadrach_Mink..., w:Shadrach Minkins for sale in newspaper notice,1851-ish SOURCE:http://www.masshist.org/longroad/01slavery/minkins.htm This image (or other media file) is in the public domain because its copyright has expired.

A Large Selection of Newspapers most of which cannot be searched together. I would suggest searching them 1 by 1

News and Newspapers

Search for articles across checked databases below

Multiple database search: If available, use the search box above to search across all checked databases using one interface

Access a specific database: Click on a linked database name to access its interface and search within that database directly.

Help me choose
Core Databases
United States
International News and Newspapers
Historical Newspapers
Transcripts and News Programs
Alternative Press
Commentary