Skip to main content

Balanchine's Nutcracker, Midsummer Night's Dream and As You Like It: Bibliographies

This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and other topical and collection-related information pertaining to Balanchine's Nutcracker.

Start your research by finding reference sources in the Social Sciences Reference Room located on the 1st fl of Bobst

English: Photo of Stanislava Belinskaya as Clara (left), an unknown performer (center), & Vassily Stulkolin as Fritz (right) in the Imperial Ballet's original production of the Petipa/Ivanov/Tchaikovsky ballet "The Nutcracker".Circa December, 1892.Unknown photographer of the Imperial Mariinsky Theatre. St. Petersburg, Russian Empire.

***Why use Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Histories?***

Start your research by using the Histories, Encyclopedias and Dictionaries available in the reference room.  The General Humanities and Social Sciences Reference Room is located on the 1st fl. or Bobst.  If you are just getting starting on a topic these tools will acquaint you with the terms and ideas in your topic.  Many of these are available online.  Histories are a chronological record of events, as of the life or development of a people or institution, often including an explanation of or commentary on those events.  Encyclopedias are a comprehensive reference works containing articles on a wide range of subjects or on numerous aspects of a particular field, usually arranged alphabetically. Dictionaries are a reference books containing an alphabetical list of words, with information given for each word, usually including meaning, pronunciation, and etymology.

***Why use Bibliographies and Indexes?***

A bibliography is a list of writings that share a common factor: this may be a topic, a language, a period, or some other theme. The list may be comprehensive or selective. One particular instance of this is the list of sources used or considered in preparing a work, sometimes called a reference list.  A bibliography may be arranged by author, topic, or some other scheme. Annotated bibliographies give descriptions about how each source is useful to an author in constructing a paper or argument. These descriptions, usually a few sentences long, provide a summary of the source and describe its relevance. Reference management software, such as  http://www.refworks.com/, may be used to keep track of references and generate bibliographies as required. Indexes are an alphabetical list of names or subjects dealt with in a book, indicating where they are referred to a file or catalogue in a library which enables a book or reference to be found. You will find a number of Indexes in the Finding Articles & Databases tab of this guide, however the ones listed here are only available in print.

References Sources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Histories

Dictionary of the dance,compiled written, and edited by W. G. Raffé; assisted by M. E. Purdon.. New York, A. S. Barnes

NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (GV1585 .R3 Non-circulating )

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/416j3CUMUpL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgA dictionary of ballet terms[by] Leo Kersley and Janet Sinclair NYU Bobst Main Collection (GV1585 .K45 ) Locate Offsite

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/41726Itn%2BOL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgInternational dictionary of modern dance /with a preface by Don McDonagh ; editor, Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf ; contributing editor, Glynis Benbow-Niemier.. Detroit : St. James Press, c1998..

NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (GV1585 .I58 1998 Non-circulating ) On line version Avail.

The Oxford dictionary of dance /Debra Craine, Judith Mackrell..
    Oxford ;   New York : Oxford University Press, 2000.. NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (GV1585 .C73 2000 Non-circulating ) Also see Online version

The Encyclopedia of dance & ballet /edited by Mary Clarke & David Vaughan.. New York : Putnam, 1977.. NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (GV1585.E5x Non-circulating )

 

The great history of Russian ballet : its art and choreography.

NYU Bobst Main Collection (GV1663 .G69 1998 Oversize )

International dictionary of ballet /editor, Martha Bremser ; assistant editor, Larraine Nicholas ; picture editor, Leanda Shrimpton.. NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (GV1585 .I57 1993 Non-circulating 

     

Bibliographies and Indexes

Dance :an annotated bibliography, 1965-1982 /Fred R. Forbes, Jr.. New York : Garland Pub., 1986..

NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (Z7514.D2 F58 1986 Non-circulating )

Compilation of dance research, 1901-1964.Edited by Esther E.Pease, (Research Committee, AAHPER National Section on Dance).

NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (Z7514.D2 C66 1964 Non-circulating )

A bibliography of dancing;a list of books and articles on the dance and related subjects.. New York, B. Blom [1966]. Magriel, Paul David, 1906-:

NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (Z7514.D2 M2 1966 Non-circulating )

Research in dance :a guide to resources /Mary S. Bopp ; foreword by Genevieve Oswald.. New York : G.K.  Bopp, Mary S.

NYU Bobst Main Collection (Z7514.D2 B6 1994 )

Dancers and choreographers :a selected bibliography /Leslie Getz.. Wakefield, R.I. : Asphodel Press, 1995.

NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (Z7514.D2 G48 1995 Non-circulating )

Ballet plot index :a guide to locating plots and descriptions of ballets and associated material /William E. Studwell and David A. Hamilton..

NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (GV1790.A1 S77 1987 Non-circulating )

Great ballet stars in historic photographs :248 portraits of dancers, 1855 to 1955 /edited by Parmenia Migel.. New York : Dover Publications : Stravinsky-Diaghilev Foundation, c1985..

NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (GV1785.A1 G72 1985 Non-circulating )

A midsummer night's dream :an annotated bibliography /D. Allen Carroll, Gary Jay Williams.. New York : Garland, 1986..

NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (Z8812.M5 C37 1986 Non-circulating )

Love's labor's lost, A midsummer night's dream, and The merchant of Venice :an annotated bibliography of Shakespeare studies, 1888-1994 /edited by Clifford Chalmers Huffman.. Binghamton, N.Y. : Medieval & Renaissance Texts & Studies, 1995.

NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (Z8813 .H83 1995 Non-circulating )

A midsummer night's dream :a guide to the play /Jay L. Halio.. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2003..

NYU Bobst 1st Floor Reference (PR2827 .H294 2003 Non-circulating )

Automata : The Golden Age 1848-1914

Russian ballet master: the memoirs of Marius Petipa

From Petipa to Balanchine : classical revival and the modernization of ballet

Writings on ballet and music