The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
Examples below include a searchable database (ICPSR), an annual report (Health U.S.), a weekly summary (MMWR), and a Meta-Site:
ICPSR contains the largest collection of social science data available. The topics covered are innumerable and data can be both quantitative or qualitative in nature. Special data archives include "Census 2000 at ICPSR," "Child Care and Early Education Research Connections," "Election 2000 at ICPSR," "Health and Medical Care Archive," "Homicide Research Working Group," "International Archive of Education Data," "National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging," "National Archive of Criminal Justice Data," "Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods," and "Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data Archive." **Users must create a MyData account from an NYU-owned computer to download data.
Users must create a MyData account from an NYU-owned computer and log on to it at least once every six months to download data. If you need help accessing your ICPSR account, contact Andrew Battista.
Presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
The National Vital Statistics System is the oldest and most successful example of inter-governmental data sharing in Public Health and the shared relationships, standards, and procedures form the mechanism by which NCHS collects and disseminates the Nation's official vital statistics.