Skip to main content

Linguistics: Finding Articles

On overview of the resources available for researchers in the field of Linguistics

About this page

The article literature is central to Linguistics. The article databases listed here allow you to search the contents of thousands of journals simultaneously. If you had to choose only one to know well, it would be LLBA, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

3 things to remember!

When using article databases, remember there are always three stages in your workflow (the "three Ds"):

1) Discovery: Do (and redo!) your searching, using varying terms and combining using the Boolean operators "and, or, not" to get good results. Your first search is not your best search, but rather an opportunity to learn how to immediately do a better search

2) Delivery: For items that you like, select the link to the fulltext if available, or click on the button to see if we own the item. If you want to keep this item, either save it to your own computer, email it to yourself, or print it.

3) Database it: Keep the "meta-information" about all that good resources you found for your records and to make your bibliographies. You will find yourself returning to resources so having a system in place will save you time and aggravation later. The NYU Libraries offer a number of tools to our users to help with this, in particular a tool called RefWorks, which you can learn about here.

Electronic Indexes and Databases

Indexes and Bibliographies

The following tools allow you to search for and use articles from within the scholarly literature in Linguistics and related fields. Some of these indexes exist in an electronic format, while others exist only in print format. 

LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage of various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

MLA International Bibliography of Books & Articles on the Modern Languages & Literatures.
The MLA bibliography indexes journal articles in literature, language, linguistics, folklore, and film. It also indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. The online version contains records for 1963 to the present, while older records must be accessed in print at the above call number.

Humanities Source
Covers about 350 English-language journals, including the major linguistics journals. A companion set, Social Sciences Index, lists studies related to linguistics from the major journals in anthropology, psychology and sociology.

Social Sciences Citation Index via Web of Science.
Covers more than 1000 journals, including a number in linguistics and related fields. Available online from 1956-present. Depending upon subject matter, you may also want to see also its online companion, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present.

FRANCIS.
Covers a broad range of topics in the humanities and social science topics from an international perspective. Especially suited for European resources.

    Print-only Indexes

    Bibliographie Linguistischer Literatur (BLL). 1971-present. Bobst Bookstacks Z7001.B53n
    Lists books and articles on general and theoretical linguistics and on English and the Germanic and Romance languages. Detailed subject arrangement with an additional subject index.

    Linguistics: The Cambridge Survey. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1988. 4 vols. Bobst Bookstacks P121.L567 1988
    Surveys research results and current work in all branches of linguistics. A very extensive older survey was Current Trends in Linguistics, The Hague: Mouton, 1963-1976. 14 volumes in 21. Bobst Bookstacks P25.S4

    The Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. 1929-present. Ref1 PB1.Y45
    Essays describing and evaluating studies of the Romance, Celtic, Germanic and Slavonic languages (and their literatures). A similar survey of studies of English is in Year's Work in English Studies, Ref1 PR5.E6

    Bibliographie linguistique des années.../de l'année... Bobst Bookstacks Z7001.P3 1939-2000
    International in scope and stronger for East European and Asian languages than other resources. Lists books and articles and cites book reviews. The print is arranged in broad subject categories.

    Librarian

    Scott Collard's picture
    Scott Collard
    Sorry, I'm either unavailable or your javaScript is disabled; you can try me via email at scott.collard@nyu.edu.
    Contact:
    Bobst Library

    5th Floor, #513
    Social:Twitter Page