Skip to main content

Linguistics: General Reference Materials

On overview of the resources available for researchers in the field of Linguistics

About this page

These resources can help you get an overview of a topic; define terms, theories, and persons in the field; and provide you with further readings on each subject. Using a reference resource in your research is especially useful at the beginning of a project, when it can help you focus your activities. Within the "Specialized Reference" tab, you'll find resources divided into subsections like applied, computational, historical, morphology, neuroplinguistics, philosophy, phonetics, pragmatics, semantics, semiotics, sociolinguistics and linguistic anthropology, and syntax

General Works

The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics. Oxford: Pergamon, 2007- (Note: Also in print, Ref1 P29 .E48 1994)

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. New York & Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003-

The handbook of linguistics. Vol. 43. Wiley-Blackwell, 2003.

The handbook of English linguistics. Blackwell Pub., 2006.

Oxford University Press Linguistics, Oxford, ebook collection with titles in many areas of linguistics

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics, Oxford, 2008-

The World Atlas of Language Structures Online. Munich: Max Planck Digital Library, 2011.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences, Elsevier, 2006- 

Handbook of Psycholinguistics, Elsevier, 2006. 

Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics. London & New York: Routledge, 1996. Ref1 P29 .B982 1996

An Encyclopaedia of Language. London & New York: Routledge, 1990. Ref1 P106 .A46 1990 

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language. 2nd ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1997. Ref1 P29 .C64 1997 

A Dictionary of Grammatical Terms in Linguistics. London & New York: Routledge, 1993. Ref1 P152 .T7 1993

Librarian

Scott Collard's picture
Scott Collard
Sorry, I'm either unavailable or your javaScript is disabled; you can try me via email at scott.collard@nyu.edu.
Contact:
Bobst Library

5th Floor, #513
Social:Twitter Page