Skip to main content

Physics: Properties

This is a guide to locating books, articles, and conference proceedings related to physics, as well as chemical and physical properties. It also includes links to download ChemDraw and other software.

Citing Sources

Databases for chemical and physical properties

SciFinder Scholar Locates a wide variety of chemical and physical properties by compound identifier or structure. First-time NYU users must register for an account.

Cambridge Structural Database Searches bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information of organic and metal-organic compounds. Available on non-networked terminal in 9th floor reference area.

Reaxys Web interface to Beilstein-Gmelin. Useful for properties info for inorganic compounds, and for planning syntheses.

 

Basic handbooks and websites for properties

Spectra

NIST Chemistry Webbook

These spectra from the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology can be searched by chemical name, molecular formula, CAS #, and selected physical property data.

Spectra: IR (16,000), MS (15,000), UV (1,600)

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS

About two-thirds of the compounds in this database from the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Japan) contain 6 - 16 carbon atoms. Lab measurement details are provided. The database can be searched by variety of parameters (compound name, molecular formula, molecular weight, CAS #, nmr peak positions, mass number, etc.

Spectra: ESR (2,000), 1H NMR (13,900), 13C NMR (12,000), IR (49,000), MS (21,800), Raman (3,500)

EPA Reference Absorbance Spectra

This covers spectra of 189 air pollutants mandated by Title III of the Clean Air Act. Spectra are grouped by chemical name, CAS # and molecular formula. Experimental measurement details such as cell path length, temperature, and concentration (ppm) are provided. Spectra are in spc format and are viewed using a free Windows-compatible viewer called ShowSPC.

Spectra: FT-IR (189 interferograms)