Skip to main content

Poems and Poets: Finding Poems

This guide is helpful for locating resources related to poetry.

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry

The Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry contains 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations, numbers that will continually expand with each update. The poems in full text are the most widely-read in the English language, as well as in Spanish, French, German, and Italian. Included also is poetry in Portuguese, Polish, Yiddish, Welsh, Gaelic, and other Celtic languages, as well as poems in the ancient languages: Anglo-Saxon, Provencal and Latin. Scholars in each of these languages have reviewed and guided the selection of poems, so that the poetry on Granger’s is also the poetry encountered in the classroom.

The Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry offers complete coverage of the works of several individual great poets, including the complete poems of Shelley, Blake, Burns, Keats, Marvell, Poe, Unamuno, Heine, Baudelaire, and other major poets.  In addition users will find a wealth of current poetry from some of the best poetry periodicals, such as Poetry Magazine, The Southern Review, and Poetry Northwest.

Digital Collections

Databases / Digital Collections with Poetry content

Online Resources

The is just a sampling of some of the valuable resources available to you via the internet.  Some of these sites may have digitized images of the original texts along with extensive bibliographies.  But, when searching the internet for research purposes, be sure to pay close attention to sites with .org or .edu web addresses. If you find a valuable site not listed below, please let me know so that I can add it to the list.  

    Searching Bobcat

    You can search BobCat by title, author, or subject to find books of poetry in the library. Use the limiters in the third drop-down menu from the main search screen to make your selections.  Here are some examples:

    Title:

    What are Years
    Meditations in an Emergency
    Paradise Lost
    Author:
    Millay, Edna St. Vincent
    Bishop, Elizabeth
    Keats, John
    Subject:
    Lyric Poetry
    Poets, American
    Poetry, Modern
    Poets, Chinese - Biography

     

     

    Search BobCat

    Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.

    Search other catalogs

    Search for an item in libraries near you:
    WorldCat.org >>

    Poem of the day

    Loading

    Poets.org

    Launched in 1996, Poets.org is the award-winning website of the Academy of American Poets. Visitors to Poets.org will find thousands of poems as well as hundreds of poet biographies, essays, interviews, and poetry recordings—with new material being added constantly. Also available are resources such as the National Poetry Map, a national events calendar, and poetry lesson plans for teachers. Poets.org receives a million visitors each month, making it the most popular site about poetry on the web.

    The Poetry Foundation

    The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.

    This is a great resource for locating poems, researching poets, and exploring the numerous features including podcasts and videos of poets and their poetry. 

    Poetry Daily

    Poetry Daily

    Poetry Daily offers a new poem by a contemporary poet every day, selected from books, magazines, and journals.

    Google Scholar