Skip to main content

Visual History Archive of the USC Shoah Foundation Institute: Using the Visual History Archive @ NYU

Enter the Visual History Archive by clicking on link below

Guides for the VHA

Some excellent guides to aid the in-depth researcher:

Using the Archive @NYU

For members of the NYU community testimonies from the Visual History Archive (VHA) are now streaming; you do not have to be onsite to access testimonies. Please note, before accessing the VHA logon to NYUHome, in order to be authenticated as having access to content licensed by NYU Libraries.

Users not affiliated with NYU may use the VHA onsite at Bobst Library. (See below for access information)

It is recommended that every first-time user of the VHA make an appointment for a research consultation by contacting us at: lib-vha@nyu.edu

Before using the Archive a one-time registration is required. See Terms of Use.

System requirements are as follows:

  • Windows 7/8 +

  • Internet Explorer 9 +

  • Firefox 25 +

  • Google Chrome 12+

Access for the Non-Affiliated User

User

  • contact us at lib-vha@nyu.edu to set up a research appointment

VHA Staff

  • for the initial research appointment provide the Library Privileges desk with the user's name, to be entered into the appointment log
  • during the research appointment fill out the Special Collection Extended Pass Form (please find the link to the form, below)

User

  • take the Special Collection Extended Pass Form to the Library Privileges desk to be issued an orange-colored library pass, which grants daily access to the library from 7:00 AM to 1:00 AM.
  • after pass expires, contact us at vha.library@nyu.edu for a new Special Collection Extended Pass Form
  • take this Special Collection Extended Pass Form to the Library Privileges desk to be issues another library pass

Copyright FAQ's

Wondering whether you can reproduce sections of transcripts in your publication?
Wondering whether you can make audio recordings of whole or partial testimonies?

Check out the FAQ's on Copyright --