Skip to main content

Labor History: Statistics

A guide to U.S. labor history resources in NYU's Tamiment Library and beyond.

Statistics

Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data. Lanham, Md.: Bernan Press, c1997-. Electronic Edition, 6th ed., 2003 (NYU researchers can click on the Get It! link to access the electronic version).

Historical Data from the Census Bureau
Link to data that ranges from the most recent edition of the Statistical Abstract of the U.S. to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades beginning with colonial times.

Historical Statistics of the United States
This subscription database available to the NYU community is the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Part B, Work and Welfare,contains 178 tables on the Workforce (12 tables), Employment and Unemployment (19), Employment by Industry (27), Occupations (32), Wages (35), Hours and Working Conditions (29), Labor Unions (18), and Household Production (6).  Topical essays on Labor, Labor Force, Occupations, Wages and Wage Inequality, Hours and Working Conditions, Labor Unions, and Household Production put the statistics into context.  Highly Recommended.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published since 1878, the Statistical Abstract is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Union Membership and Coverage Database
The Union Membership and Coverage Database is an Internet data resource providing private and public sector labor union membership, coverage, and density estimates compiled from the Current Population Survey (CPS), a monthly household survey, using BLS methods. Economy-wide estimates are provided beginning in 1973; estimates by state, detailed industry, and detailed occupation begin in 1983; and estimates by metropolitan area begin in 1986. The Database, constructed by Barry Hirsch (Georgia State University) and David Macpherson (Florida State University), is updated annually.

Union Membership Information from the BLS
See the Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

U.S. Department of Labor
Find current and historical information on labor laws, wages, and benefits, including statistics and reports. Includes links to state labor departments and other agencies. 

 

Image:  Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, & Other Labor Data (8th Edition, 2005).  Jacobs, Eva E.  Publisher: Bernan Associates, 2005, p. 289.  http://site.Ebook Central.com/lib/nyulibrary/docDetail.action?docID=10077321.