Skip to main content

Labor History: Gov't Docs

A guide to U.S. labor history resources in NYU's Tamiment Library and beyond.

Search BobCat

Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.

NYU Libraries' online catalog.

Online Sources

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Includes statistical and economic information on the United States, searchable by keyword. Also includes links to many other sources of statistical information, both foreign and domestic, in the BLS information section.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

Congressional Hearings Digital Collection (CHDC)
A subscription database available to NYU researchers from this link that includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings from 1824-present.

Internet Archive
Several volumes of the Bulletin of Labor are available in the Internet Archive along with other publications of the U.S. Bureau of Labor and the Women's Bureau of the United States.  Search by Author (e.g., "United States Department of Labor" or "Women's Bureau") to see available titles.

Government Agencies

Federal Labor Relations Authority
The FLRA is an independent agency responsible for administering the labor-management relations program for 1.9 million Federal employees world-wide.

U.S. Department of Labor
Find current and historical information on labor laws, wages, and benefits, including statistics and reports. Includes links to state labor departments and other agencies.

Overview

Books, pamphlets, reports, statistics, serials, and other documents published by local, state, and federal government agencies represent a rich source of information for researchers on virtually every subject. 

The Tamiment Library is not a repository library, but we do collect government documents relating to our subject areas, broadly defined as labor and the left.  

Researchers may search BobCat using the box on the left to see if particular documents are in the Tamiment Library or in the much larger U.S. Government Documents collection on the 6th Floor of Bobst Library.  Consult the website of the U.S. Government Documents Library in Bobst for research guides and reference assistance.  

To search BobCat using the search box on this page, type in the box using keywords, titles, or author names.  A new window will open, taking your search to the catalog.  

Tamiment Library Collections

Following are selections from the Tamiment Library's collections of government documents.  This is not a comprehensive list, but rather a selection of highlights from the materials available.

Department of Justice Investigation Files.  Part 1:  The Industrial Workers of the World / Edited by Melvyn Dubofsky.  Microfilm Collection (15 Reels). 

HUAC.  United States. Congress. House. Committee on Un-American Activities. Cumulative index to Publications of the Committee on Un-American Activities, 1938-1954. Tamiment also holds a complete set of the publications themselves in print.

The Lusk Committee : A Guide to the Records of the Joint Legislative Committee to Investigate Seditious Activities Held by the New York State Archives. Albany, N.Y. : University of the State of New York, State Education Dept., Office of Cultural Education, State Archives and Records Administration, 1992. Also available online.

New York (State) Factory Investigation Commission (1912-1915)
Reports of the Factory Investigation Commission (1912, 1913, 1914, 1915) are available in Tamiment.

Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Dept. of Labor, 1918-1965
23 microfilm reels ;  35 mm. +  guide. Contents: pt. 1. Reports of the Director, annual summaries, major conferences, speeches and articles.  

U.S. Military Intelligence Reports:  Surveillance of Radicals in the United States, 1917-1941 / edited by Randolph Boehm.  Microfilm Collection (34 reels).

United States Bureau of Labor Bulletin.
Tamiment holds a full run of the Bulletin of the Department of Labor for 1895-1903 / Bulletin of the Bureau of Labor for 1903-1913. Several volumes of the Bulletin and other publications of the U.S. Bureau of Labor, the Women's Bureau, and other governmental agencies are also available in the Internet Archive.  Search by Author (e.g., "United States Department of Labor" or "Women's Bureau") to see available titles.

Women's Bureau of the United States
In addition to the records of the Women's Bureau on microfilm, Tamiment holds a nearly complete bound set of the Bulletins published by the Women's Bureau.  Selected titles from the series have been cataloged individually in BobCat, but the majority of the Bulletins have not yet been cataloged.

Government Documents at Bobst Library

Elmer Bobst Library has been a participant in the Federal Depository Library Program since 1967. The library is a selective depository which currently collects approximately 55% of the Federal documents distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program.

US Government Documents are shelved on the 6th Floor of Bobst Library.

Factory Investigating Commission Reports Online

Statistics

Also see the Statistics page in this guide.